We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Invicta Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Invicta Hotel to your Saves list
Invicta Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11/12 Osborne Place | Lockyer Street, The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PU, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sarasota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated on a quiet dead-end street adjacent to the Hoe. The park has beautiful views of the harbor. Also, it is a short walk to the Barbican with its ambience and understated charm. The room was comfortable, clean and very large. There is a bar on site with a nice selection of draft beers and bottled ales, as well as vino. The breakfast was made to order and it was delicious. The owners made us feel at home and this kind of exceptional hospitality makes traveling a dream. We are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    112
    27
    20
    6
See reviews for
63
144
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We Stayed in the Invicta Hotel in Plymouth on the 6th and 7th of December 2013 and found it to be very clean and comfortable and the staff and the owners were very friendly and treated us like old friends, The location of the hotel is perfect for shopping and sightseeing, The quality of the food was first class Both in the dining room and the function room, making this a hotel to revisit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilbolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My long weekend stay at this hotel for the BARRY MANILOW christmas party was wonderful. The proprietors were so helpful. The party was in a lovely function room, and the barmen were busy serving drinks all evening. The room was decorated to a very high standard. There is a very welcoming sitting room, with a large TV which I enjoyed after the lovely super I had in the dining room on the Friday evening. The tables are layed to a nice standard, and the waitress is very professional. I have to say that I thought the Marmalade/Jam pots were super, and deserve a mention. It is these little attention to detail which enhance a stay.
The outside of this hotel is lovely, the frontage is very attractive with flowers and tubs. Everything is very clean and tidy. This is a very old building, I believe it is 200 years old, and the architecture inside and out is beautiful. There is a maize of small staircases, as this is two buidings converted into one. But you will be helped with your luggage if you find it hard. I believe that planning would never be allowed, for lifts to be installed in this type of building. The history on the plaque at the front of the building is very interesting and I congratulate the owners on the research this must have taken to find its history. Even to finding that a poor Mr Hyett died in the garden when the place was hit by a bomb in WW2
Plymouth also had a Christmas Market, that was wonderful. There was even an Ice Rink which was very festive to watch. We had our Photo taken with Father Christmas.!! Now that was MAGIC!!!
This was my first experience of the MAGIC 'snuggies'. This is a special Duvet, which is self regulating to your body temperature. I have seen reviews here mentioning them, and wish that folk had asked the proprietors about them. These thin duvets which are washed every time they are used, and apparently dry very easily in a dryer, so are, in fact much healthier that ordinary Duvets, as a freshly washed one is put onto a bed every time there is a new residen. So folk complaining about no duvet covers should have just asked and they would have had the properties of this product expained to them I think they are so wonderful. that I am planning ot buy one myself. It must be MAGIC to never have to iron a duver cover again.
I loved my MAGIC experience so much, that I have already booked to return next year for the same Barry Manilow Xmas party, and thank Roy, Betty and Martin (the proprietors) for making our weekend break, and our Party such a lovely experience. Looking forward to the same next year.

Room Tip: If you ask the owners for what your need, they are most helpful. I wanted my room warmer, and they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I arrived at the Invicta on the Friday for a Barry Manilow Fan Club Christmas Party which I had booked earlier in the year to be held in the hotels function room. I had numerous friends staying at the hotel all of which were happy with the rooms we had. We all had a an evening meal on the Friday evening which came out piping hot and was delicious. Everyone of the staff were friendly and helpful making us feel very welcome, nothing was to much trouble. After a good nights sleep we came down to a lovely breakfast with a wide choice of cereals, full cooked breakfast and even kippers and Salmon. Our Christmas party was on the Saturday evening in the hotels function room, we had a lovely spread for our buffet and the bar staff were helpful and polite. They even helped us take all the decorations down at the end of the evening and making us tea/coffee at 2.00a.m in the morning. Thankyou for making our stay such a pleasant one and next years party is already booked. See you in 2014!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting the nearby Theatre Royal.

This hotel has a nice feel to it. Staff and owners are friendly and our stay was comfortable and enjoyable.

We had a front facing bedroom with a large window which allowed for good daylight. The bed was extremely comfortable - it had been recently upgraded. The shower/bathroom was nicely tiled - again, it looked as if it had been recently refurbished. Carpets and fixtures and fittings were in good condition and everywhere was spotless. The décor of the whole hotel is lovely.

The heating came on early evening and was on again in the morning and was quite adequate. We managed to close the sash window gap at the top (it is a listed building) otherwise it might caused a bit of a draught. It was fairly quiet and we had a good night's sleep. There is a bit of street lighting which impacts on the room so if you demand womb like conditions for sleep then bring your eye mask!

We returned in the evening and used the comfortable lounge and enjoyed a drink from the bar.

Breakfast was really good. It was beautifully cooked with nice ingredients.

All in all a good stay and we'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is in a good location for exploring on foot. However it needs updating & redecorating. Our room was clean but rather tired. There needs to be attention to detail - wardrobe door knob missing, soap tray in shower broken. The worst problem was that the heating wasn't working & our room was freezing. We were staying with family & had 6 rooms booked & everyone had the same problem. We were given a portable heater to use.
The staff were all friendly & helpful - if not terribly organised. Check in was a bit confused.
Breakfast was well cooked & fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invicta_12, Owner at Invicta Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Firstly, let me apologise. During your stay at The Invicta Hotel we had a central heating pump failure which affected one floor only. This meant that the radiator in your room was not reaching temperature so a portable heater was supplied as it was not possible to move you to an alternative room owing to the hotel being busy. This was a temporary yet regrettable problem and was rectified within 24 hours of the part being sourced. I believe an explanation and apology was given at the time of your stay.
The wardrobe door knob has been replaced. We were aware of this but considered the wardrobe to be functional and fit for purpose.
The soap tray in the shower room was not actually broken but had become unclipped from the shower rail and was re-attached by housekeeping. To stop future confusion this has now been removed from the room and a more substantial unit fitted.
The decor in the hotel is themed to suit the Victorian building as can be seen from our website. We have an ongoing program of refurbishment and redecoration. Bedrooms are redecorated every four years.
In June 2013 all the bedroom doors throughout the hotel were replaced with new solid oak doors. The lounge, bar and dining room were refurbished in March 2013. Future refurbishment for winter 2013 and spring 2014 includes all new bedding and soft furnishings in classic rooms. On our second floor rooms 20, 22, 24 and 25 will undergo major refurbishment.
As you can see, we endeavour to maintain the hotel to the highest standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed two nights this visit as we were in Plymouth to attend my daughters graduation. We had a lovely room front facing with kingsize bed, there were a couple of dodgy springs on my side of the mattress but still has a really good nights sleep. The position of this hotel is fantastic we didnt need to use the car once- the hotel has onsite free parking! Really friendly staff and the breakfasts are excellent quality. We would return again to the Invicta Hotel and would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 15 is a lovely front facing one but has a large cubicle shower no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Invicta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invicta Hotel

Address: 11/12 Osborne Place | Lockyer Street, The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#6 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Invicta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Invicta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invicta Hotel Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Invicta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.