We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looked after my son on his journy home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Lodge

Rainbow Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rainbow Lodge to your Saves list
Rainbow Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Athenaeum Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 85 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“looked after my son on his journy home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My son was traveling from portsmouth to plymouth before catching the train back to scotland..we conntacted the lodge on his behalf...no credit on his phone...and booked a single room for him, we explained his train wouldnt be in till well after 10pm..they gave him code to keysafe and left him instructions..then called us to say they would look after him... he found the room to be spotless and the bed comfy...the shower was hot and the bathroom clean..for a small fee of £3 they provided him with a full english to fuel him for his 12 hour journy home... he said he would highly recomend this guesthouse, and may use it in future...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    40
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
65
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in mid-June -- I was in town for a funeral. From the beginning Sue and Dave were accomodating, honouring my request for a quiet room ( #8), as I had just completed 24 hours of travel from the West Coast. The room is small and the toilet and shower are just beside it, but that was not a problem for me. Very comfortable bed, tv, wifi, kettle in room and sink. Quiet, clean, and safe, at an excellent price.

Breakfasts were to die for -- full English breakfast cooked to order that kept me going until mid-afternoon. A five-minute walk got me to the Hoe for some marvellous early-morning walks and views. Barbican is close as well.

Dave can help you with taxis and advice about getting around town.

All in all it was a great, welcoming place to stay, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you're solo or a couple who are ok with a small room, try # 8. It's on the back at the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night night and were given a very warm welcome by the landlady, Sue. Was delighted to have been upgraded from the standard room which is not en-suite to a room which was. The location is ideal for both the hoe and barbican as well as town. There is a small car park at the back of the B&B and also free wifi. Breakfast is cooked to order and there is a good choice. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I'm very used to staying in hotels for work and so for our personal trip to Plymouth for the half marathon we chose a traditional great British b&b and thats exactly what we got but with a modern and helpful twist. Very clean and welcoming building, great breakfast and good all round facilities. Well done David and Sue on a great b&b.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Just arrived back from Germany and came to visit my newly arrived granson in Plymouth,booked in at Rainbow Lodge after reading reviews on Tripadvisor.What a lovely place and people.Asked for single room and was given family room which was fantastic .I.ve just stayed in Best Western in Dussoldorf which was just ok,bed was rubbish and about 6 times the price.Rainbow Lodge helped me recoup my sleep in wonderful double bed.Would highly recomend.I,ve stayed in over twenty places in Plymouth , think this is best to date......well done David and Sue,staff.Alvin brown Leicester...................PS wi-fi was brillliant too...........Food first class.........Hope theres a vacancy in couple of months time....thank you.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is one of the best b&bs that I have stayed in. A very central location, 10 mins to the city centre, 5 mins to the Hoe.

The accommodation is fantastic hosted by a wonderful landlady Sue, nothing is too much trouble without being over bearing, we arrived early but were able to park our car and go to our room which was extreemly nice, the room had a lovely king size bed, which was sooh comfy.

Sue was very helpful in pointing out local attractions,walks, and general info, she also gave us a local map which was very useful.

Our room had all of the amenities that you could want, kept spotlessly clean and nice and warm.
The breakfast selection was very good, cereals, fruit, yogurt with a freshly cooked breakfast to order.Plenty of tea/coffee & toast

If you are looking for a very reasonable priced B&B which ticks all of the boxs do not hesitate to book Rainbow lodge, you will not be diasppointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Lovely owner! Made us very welcome! Just a couple of minutes walk to the town which is ideal. Really recommend this place to stay. :-D

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge

Address: 29 Athenaeum Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rainbow Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 3 Star Guest House on Plymouth Hoe. Ideal location for City Centre shops and commercial hub, Pavilions, Barbican, Uni, all transport modes and Plymouth Sound. Ensuite or standard, B&B or 'Roomkey only'. Singles, doubles/twins. Friendly individual service, spotless rooms, well prepared choice of breakfasts,private car parking on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rainbow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.