We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grosvenor Plymouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Grosvenor Plymouth to your Saves list
The Grosvenor Plymouth
7 - 9 Elliot St | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
'Hotel of the Year' 2014
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Travelling Essex man
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Second stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here for two nights over a weekend along with a number of old friends meeting up for a reunion. We stayed at the Grosvenor for the first time in 2010 and was impressed enough to come back three years later. The location is just great - everything easily walkable and the Hoe just 100 yards away. I had a single room which had a single bed but the room was a decent size with a small but efficient and clean shower room. The breakfast is nicely done. The staff were very helpful and friendly to all of our group. There is free wifi and a small parking area at the back that's first come first served. The reception has pre-pay all-day parking permits for on street parking for £3.50/day. Very happy with my stay and will return when I next go back to Plymouth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    136
    46
    9
    2
See reviews for
79
182
39
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Located quite good, next to the Hoe Park and the Sea. 10 minutes walk to the center and also to Barbican, and old quarter where you'll find a lot of good restaurants. Rooms a bit to less sound-proofed. Breakfast sufficient, people at reception desk very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at the Grosvenor for two nights over a weekend, and found it very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and nothing too much trouble. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice. We stayed in a superior room no. 19 which was clean, and nicely decorated and very clean. The only downfall was that you could hear people walking about in the rooms above. Also no lifts at the hotel and lots of stairs.

Easy walking to the Hoe and the shops. Limited parking and you will need to pay.
All in all an enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior Room and on the top floor if you don't mind walking up lots of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayes here for 1 night as part of our tour of the coast. The reception and breakfast staff were very friendly and helpfull, we were even provided with an area map and tips without having to ask! Its also very refreshing to find a hotel encouraging guests to bring take away food back - even providing cutlery if required!

Located right by the Hoe and easy walking distance to The Barbican. The room was very clean and comfortable, a little noisy - I've yet to find a hotel that isn't. Breakfast was good, not a wide variety , just basic English Breakfast items, but fresh and tasty. Would definately stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Slept like a log in a very comfortable bed, then came down to a lovely breakfast, freshly cooked to order. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, giving useful advice on how to get the best from a very short stay in Plymouth. Splendid location next to the Hoe. The hotel is slightly old fashioned, but in a pleasant way. No evening meals available, but there are loads of restaurants and take-aways within easy reach (the staff will actually provide plates and cutlery for use with take-aways). I can certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Aside from not being able to get into the bathroom in our booked room, they changed our room straight away and the rest of our stay was perfect. Although our superior room was still a little small, it had everything we needed.
All of the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Everywhere was recently redecorated and spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was excellent with good choices.
Street parking is £1.40 an hour between 10.00am and 6.00pm so use the small hotel parking at the rear if you can.

Room Tip: Choose a front superior room if you can. The street is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The only Critism of the hotel is the number of stairs, no lift. We were in room 15 and it was 5 lots of stairs. The location is excellent being right on the Hoe. Parking is limited and needs to be paid for. The stay were pleasant and helpful. Room very clean. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grosvenor Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Plymouth

Address: 7 - 9 Elliot St | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#2 Best Value Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the southwest's largest city, the Grosvenor Plymouth is the ideal base for a quality and affordable stay in the historical city of Plymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Grosvenor Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth
The Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grosvenor Plymouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.