We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home to home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Squires Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Squires Guest House
7 St James Place East | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 82 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Axminster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“home to home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

what?a visit to plymouth without staying in squires?unheard of. after the trauma of the m5,pip and i eventually reached squires. we were welcomed as family and treated as such until we left, our breakfast was as if my great parents were inviting us in to join them, ive an idea the chef may be persuaded to sing too !!!!!!! our many thankyous to such a well run,clean and hospitable home to home,

Room Tip: all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
63
43
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Lovely Guest house in a great location with really nice hosts. I always stay here when in Plymouth as its so close to everything. Street parking is always available close by. Nice clean rooms with all the facilities. Fantastic English breakfast, exactly what's needed after a night out in the town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My friend and I booked a double en-suite room each for our one night stay on a shopping plus concert trip. We found the guest house clean, warm, and very welcoming. We were shown to our rooms, told how to use the TV and free WiFi, and when breakfast would be available in the morning. The beds were very comfortable. Shower with easy adjustable controls and complimentory toiletries. The breakfast menu had several choices, we had the full English which was very tasty along with cereal, orange juice, toast and a pot of tea, we could have had more if we'd wanted. The owner's were very friendly and helpful, a lovely couple. We we certainly use this Guest House again and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great little guest house, clean, tidy, cosy, good hosts. Definitely recommend it good value for money.Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of menu. Owners very helpful and knowledgeable of the area

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleator, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have stayed at several B&Bs in Plymouth in recent years, and this is the first we will be returning to. Dave and Paula are very friendly and helpful without being in your face. The location is perfect - easily within walking distance of the Hoe, the Barbican and the City Centre. You can buy a parking permit for £2 which lasts all day so no problem with parking either. Our room was spotlessly clean and I loved the large bath sheets. The breakfasts were fantastic and Dave and Paula were around to entertain us. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed in this guest house three nights. The location was perfect, just close to the city center and to the sea front. The room was nice, the breakfast was good, and the owners were very helpful. They even gave me a lift to the train station in the morning.
I would highly recommend this place for staying in Plymouth. In addition to the quality of the place in itself, which would be the primary reason of my recommendation, I think the price I have paid is among the lowest ones that can be found in Plymouth, or at least in that area of the city (I checked the price of about 7-8 places before booking this guest house).

Room Tip: If you have heavy baggage and do not like carrying them up the stairs, maybe do not choose rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Myself and two friends had the absolute pleasure of staying here for a night, and i have to say that you would be hard pushed to find anywhere better or more friendly! From the moment we arrived Dave and his wife took care of us and absolutely nothing was too much trouble(thank you both very much).
STAY HERE - YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Squires Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squires Guest House

Address: 7 St James Place East | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Squires is a four star guest house rated by visit britain and is situated in a quiet secluded square on Plymouth Hoe and within easy walking distance of the Promenade, The Barbican, City Centre, Plymouth Pavilions, Theatre Royal, National Aquarium and Brittany Ferry Port. We are also only a few minutes from Plymouth Rail and Bus Stations. David & Paula offer a very high standard of Bed and Breakfast and take pride in meeting all of our guests' needs. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squires Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Squires Guest House to your Saves list