We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not sure it should be this high in ratings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ford Park Cemetery

Ford Park Cemetery
Ford Park Road, Plymouth PL4 6NT, England
01752 665 442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 269 things to do in Plymouth
Attraction details
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice but not sure it should be this high in ratings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very old graves with loads of history, is worth a visit if this is your thing. Untidy in places but I guess finding the money to keep this cemetery in good order must be hard work in the climate we find our selves. Well done to those who try.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Lovely helpful staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Run as a Trust, the staff could not have been more helpful and enabled me to locate my Grandfather's final resting place. Thank you so much!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
139 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2,495 helpful votes 2,495 helpful votes
“Excellent old cemetery with restored building.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Having not really noticed Ford Park Cemetery despite spending my life in Plymouth I have been twice within a month. One for the very satisfying and well done funeral of a neighbour and then for the Abandon Ship! exhibition. Very impressed. This is an extensive and wide ranging well maintained burial area in different styles. One of the two original early Victorian chapels has been very skillfully and sensitively restored. On reading the promotional material also on the website we have contributed to the Spire Fund to reinstate the bell and tower. This is a good place and like others we met at the funeral we have almost swung from the common modern preference for clinical cremation to the yearning to be planted in a beautiful traditional English urban cemetery.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
663 helpful votes 663 helpful votes
“Poetic, rustic, Victorian formality and ritual, friendly burial grounds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

So very different from the municipal cemeteries at Efford and Weston Mill. Maybe a hundred and fifty years plus old. Well into a great and dynamically successful schedule of ground clearance, building restoration and reopening as a burial ground. My kids run past here on their school cross country runs and one Saturday lunchtime after games had been cancelled asked to have a look around. Thee checked out some of the history online. There is a middling website that only scrapes the surface of how things are. It reassuringly welcomes all and is inclusive in drawing the community back to a huge curious beautiful and useful place. We picked up a booklet. Wandered past the tombs and vaults, looked at the private and military burial areas, strolled around the woodland areas. So very like a country church yard and yet in the heart of the city. We saw some famous local names. We were allowed to enter the almost completely restored chapel. Now equipped not only for contemporary funeral or memorial services but also for many other performance and non spiritual activities. Much effort has been made to inscribe the names of the civilian victims of the Blitz upon Plymouth. We have contributed to the fund to complete the last phase of the restoration, the rebuilding of the small bell lantern and rehanging of the bell. We recommend anyone in the area who is interested or might have time to kill to take the trouble one dry day to walk around for a while. The layout is such that you could spend an interesting ten minutes or easily fill a couple of hours.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
397 helpful votes 397 helpful votes
“Inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We walked through central park towards Mutley at the weekend and happened upon the gates of this large old cemetery. We went in intending just to vary the route back to the pub.But inside we were bewitched by the extent variation and interest. there are neat war graves, nineteenth century toombs and the front plates and stones of old vaults. There are woodland areas and non christian burial plots. When we reached the brow of the hill we were impressed to see the sensitive and successful work that has been carried out on one of the old chapels. it is not only used for funeral and remembrance services but also musical and social events. We learnt that there is a new appeal to restore the old spire which housed a preserved but currently unused tolling bell. we shall be contributing and would encourage others to go and experience the delights and solemnity of this place and maybe contribute as well.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford Park Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Ford Park Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ford Park Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.