We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for money, good location, friendly staff. But a very warm hotel, You wont need your pj's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Continental Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Continental Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Continental Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Plymouth
newport
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for money, good location, friendly staff. But a very warm hotel, You wont need your pj's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

I have just come back from a weekend in this hotel. I was a little worried from some of the reviews that i read but really i think it is value for money. The lobby is very modern, but the rest of the hotel is a little dated but it is clean. The hotel itself is very warm. My hotel room was lovely. We had a double room with an extra single bed in, a coffee table with to comfy chairs, plenty of space. The bathroom was lovely and clean very spacious and modern. The shower was fantastic i didnt want to get out a mira power shower. WOW! Like i said all in all a nice hotel. Didnt stay for breakfast. Location was very good about 5 mins walk to the city centre shopping area and about 10mins walk to the barbican.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    75
    49
    23
    18
See reviews for
33
74
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

I don't normally post reviews about hotels, but the shoddy state of this place has brought me here.

My room stunk, it smells of dirty sheets slept in by numerous previous occupants. I slept on top of the covers fully dressed as a result.

Cleanliness was a joke, the previous occupant left their mark in the room toilet that the cleaners missed.

Stairs carpet full of holes, worn out decor, this hotel is so dated and worn out, breakfast was small, cold and bearly cooked.

In fairness, the staff was very polite and friendly, but the hotel is a dump.

One of the worst places I have stayed, I will make a point of my company removing this place from our data base.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Great location for the night life, staff were very helpful especially the bar girl telling us where to go for good night etc. Don't think we should of been charged for parking at all and hard to find a space as there was a wedding reception one night. The hotel is very nice downstairs bar very quiet though, didnt try the reastraunt. The room did not reflect the lobby at all quite dated. Had a real problem sleeping or relaxing in the room as it was boiling hot for entire stay had window open and fan on full. They need air con, think we may of been above kitchen. The staff were very kind though bringing us an ice bucket and glasses to our room for our champagne. Overall nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

The New Continental Hotel is a really nice place, made even nicer by the staff. Breakfast is quite fantastic, initially seems a little expensive until you arrive in the breakfast room and see the choices available and taste the quality of the food. The rooms are very nice, the lift is fast and quiet, my room had an excellent hot shower and very comfortable bed.
The evening staff are really nice and friendly, the lady called Vicky who serves in the bar is quite possible the nicest lady you could ever meet, very intelligent, very welcoming and able to hold a polite conversation with everyone on a wide variety of subjects. They do have a small car park, and there is plenty of parking on the roads around the hotel. Situated on the edge of the town centre, its location is ideal. I will return to this hotel for sure,
Richard Kaminski.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

This hotel is in a fab location, around the corner from bars and the main shopping area. 10min walk fron the Hoe and the babican area which is beautiful. I used the pool/sauna and steam room had fab service and towels given free and you use all the facilities for free. Ive been to Plymouth many times and value for money is very good at the hotel. Parking is onsite and £2.00 a day. The staff at the hotel are very helpfull at all times and you have two bars there so you can sit and have a few drinks b4 going out and about. They also recommended places to eat (like Ganges indian resturant) Cleanliness at the hotel is very high. Most rooms have a shower which can be a bit tight if you are over 5.7 and bigger than size 12 so i would ask for your room to have a bath as it has a shower over the bath which is alot better. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

I stayed at this hotel on two occasions over the summer. My experiences could not have been so diverse. The first time I was given a room on the front of the hotel. The room was pokey, dark and the bathroom was dated. In fact the sink was not in the bathroom but next to the bed! Decor in halls and creaking floors indicate the age and state of this beautiful building. Food is quite good with a decent selection. Large tours of German, Swiss and Austrians stay here in summer which makes it a busy breakfast! It does make it interesting though. The bar area is nice and the bar staff are superb (Northern dark haired girl with glasses was brilliant, although can't remember name!). I would recommend eating here rather than dingy resturant.
My second stay was infinitly better due to a big, more modern and spacious room. View was nicer and it was quieter.
Breakfast is good. Location is great for the centre and it is ok value for money. There are much better places in Plymouth but all are more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010 via mobile

This hotel seems to be going through a major refurbishment; the lobby looked fantastic, the rest pretty dated, maybe it will improve soon. Our room looked to have been refurbished in the classic style, they almost got it right but the finishing in the bathroom wasn't quite right and - crucially - the double bed seemed under-sized and we didn't sleep very well.

We chose the New Continental because it offered breakfast and a swimming pool. Staff in the leisure facility were friendly and helpful and the facilities were good if a little tired... The swim and sauna just about made up for everything else.

But the breakfast, well... it's very rare for me not to finish a Full English but I couldn't manage this one. Hard to pin down quite why but to give an example, the mushrooms were clearly just tinned ones chucked in a deep fat fryer, which is not what I expect for 15 quid extra. The starter section of the menu mentioned croissants as well as fruit juice and cereal but there were none to be seen and no explanation.

Also the dining room was a cavernous place - about to be refurbished - but the waitress just parked us in the worst bit of it near the exit and the kitchen door... which seemed for her convenience rather than ours. It looked like there might have been a little bit of a view up the far end of the room, over Millbay Docks and the Plymouth Pavilions, but we'll never know!

All in all if you want a quick getaway for the cross-channel ferry and don't bother with breakfast this might suit you... but if you want breakfast and a swim you'll probably be better off at the Holiday Inn.

We had our swim and left and checked into the Quality Hotel on the Hoe, which (admittedly without breakfast) was just over half the price and in a much better, quieter location with a great view and the bed was a good size and more comfortable.

Reception staff and the Night Porter (who checked us in) at the New Continental were pleasant, but overall something about this hotel didn't seem to be quite right, and not trying quite hard enough considering what we paid.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Continental Hotel

Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Continental Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Continental Hotel is the largest independently owned hotel in Plymouth. Located in the centre of Plymouth, adjacent to the Plymouth Pavilions - the hotel is the perfect location for business and pleasure.At the New Continental Hotel we seek to offer affordable luxury. We aspire to create an individual, personal and comfortable environment. This is provided with a passion that comes from a family tradition steeped in the hospitality industry and odd eccentricities from being custodians of a grade II listed building that is over 150 years old.Our team is at the heart and soul of the New Continental Hotel and is integral to providing guests with a quality hotel service and being flexible to cater for individuals needs.Step from the bustling centre of Plymouth city into the quiet relaxation of our newly refurbished reception, lounge and Roma Bar. All have been designed to offer a combination of peace and calm ambience in which to read, work and share a drink or snack with colleagues and friends.If you are planning to stay or just visiting our health and leisure complex, sampling the delights of the new restaurant and bars or attending a function for a special occasion, we look forward to meeting you and ensuring your time with us is everything you want it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your New Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Continental Torquay
New Continental Hotel Torquay
New Continental Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Continental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.