We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoe Cantonese

Hoe Cantonese
14 Athenaeum Street, Plymouth, England
01752 661895
Improve this listing
Ranked #327 of 503 Restaurants in Plymouth
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We have come here for about 10years but had stopped as twice we had been and the food was terrible and the restaurant was cold and the staff didn't have a clue seemed to run about in a panic. But we went as a family last night , it was warm and the staff we friendly. The food was the best I have had for a long time. Please keep the chief and staff as it was a pleasure to be there. It's my birthday in a couple of weeks and we will be back again. I will also recommend this to anyone again now. Could I just add they also made the children welcome by chatting to them.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    7
    4
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
958 reviews 958 reviews
570 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
3,009 helpful votes 3,009 helpful votes
“Subterranean Chinese restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

The H C has been here as long as I have been coming to, or working or studying in Plymouth. It used to be a cosy discrete consistent and reliable option. Times have moved on and sadly this place has struggled to maintain its position. When we came recently it was quiet and not very inspiring. With so much competition, small traditional places like this have to work harder to justify the trade. I will, regrettably not be rushing back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My partner and I ordered food early on a Sunday evening for takeaway. We ordered at 5.15 and were told the food would take 45 minutes. An hour and 15 minutes we were still waiting.

After a couple of phone calls the food finally arrived but was sadly cold.

I phoned to complain and was told that there was no way this was possible as when it had left the shop (45 minutes earlier) it was hot. I was told the manager would call me back...

About 10 minutes later the manager phoned me back has was great. He apologised for the poor service and offered me a discount on my next order. Such a shame we had to wait so long to get this service.

We warmed the food up at home and it was really tasty, I'm so disappointed that my experience was not up to par. There are not many places in Plymouth that offer tasty Chinese and this place does. Service just let's the side down.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely but eerily quiet on a Saturday night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Lovely food and great service. We were the only people in there on a Saturday night though, which was odd but also quite pleasant!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Recently organised a hen party meal at the Hoe Cantonese which was lovely. The waitresses were helpful and welcoming and the food was quick and delicious. Couldn't fault it. Good location to :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoe Cantonese also viewed

Plymouth, Devon
Plymouth, Devon
 
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to Hoe Cantonese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoe Cantonese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.