We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Batten House

View from the loungeroom balcony
View from the loungeroom balcony
View from the loungeroom balcony
master bedroom
Loungeroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Plymouth
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BelindaGr...
Queenborough kent
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

From the first contact with Simon he was very helpful, booked the house for myself my daughter and 12 week old grand-daughter. The house was lovely, view great for watching the boats go by. I slept in the downstairs bedroom and for me the temperature was fine, just kept the door closed and it was cosy and warm. Would stay again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Tu1lip
Herford, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location, great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Just had one week's stay in this lovely house. The windows look directly out over the marina and though there wasn't much boating activity this time of year there were regular passing ships in Plymouth Sound to watch. The house was very clean and comfortable and SImon, the owner lives locally and was very friendly and helpful. It was a short walk to the coastal path and also to the water taxi that ferries you directly over to The Barbican - so no need to worry about car parking. We would definitely return there.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: The downstairs bedroom was very cold so we didn't use it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Caroline...
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing views and great property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed at Mount Batten House for my sons Passing out parade in Plymouth. The house is lovely and the views over the water where amazing. The owner was very helpful and gave us information on the best way to the Navy base. The property is well furnished and Simon left a bottle of wine which we enjoyed on our first night. We will be back and spend a little more time exploring the area. Food at the local restaurant which was only four doors away was also fantastic.

Thanks for a great break.

Caroline

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The property was so well looked after and great views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
happystay...
Shepperton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful property - clean and really comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Should have written this review immediately after our stay, but time has whizzed by. Staying at Mount Batten over the last New Year was the wonderful getaway that we needed after the hustle and bustle of a busy Christmas at home. We were lucky to enjoy fine weather most days and wished we'd taken the opportunity to do more of the coastal walks. The beach is conveniently just two minutes walk. The beds were soooo comfortable - unusual I find for a holiday home - we will definitely go back some time. Thank you.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
lee p
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“brilliant house, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

the house was thoroughly cleaned throughout,before our arrival.it had bigger rooms than we exspected.the owner left us a bottle of good wine. it was a lovely place for my wife and i to relax. the owner lent us some fishing equipment so we could take our grandson fishing on the near by beach.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: water views,from each floor on the house
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SLJ_13
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended - nicely presented property in lovely location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

I stayed here with my husband and parents whilst visiting my son in Plymouth just before Christmas. The layout of the property was perfect for us and it had everything we needed. I would definitely recommend this property, we had a lovely stay here and would not hesitate to come back.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kagsy65
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An excellent property in an ideal location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had a great week at Mountbatten House with our 2 teenaged children. The location is ideal for exploring the local area, the views across to Plymouth are superb and if you enjoy walking, the walk around the coast to Bovisand (via the cafe at Jennycliff) is not to be missed. Mountbatten breakwater is a 5 minutes walk away, a great place to watch the ships and ferries in Plymouth Sound, and for looking back across at The Hoe. Also nearby is the water taxi across to The Barbican, from which there is a short walk into the town centre. There are plenty of supermarkets and smaller shops within a short drive, and as well as The Bridge restaurant a couple of minutes walk away (excellent for breakfast), there are many places to eat and drink within a short drive, or a hop across the water taxi.
The house is very comfortable, spotlessly clean and with everything we needed for the week. The owner left a bottle of wine as a welcome, and in addition he provided all the things that are sometimes annoyingly missing from a holiday let - toilet rolls, bin liners, tea towels, washing up liquid (all the things I usually forget to pack!).
The windows in the lounge opened onto a balcony, literally overlooking the marina, and it was great to be able to sit and watch the boats bobbing about in the water - very relaxing. And as a Plymothian ex-pat myself, I couldn't get enough of the wonderful view!
There are a lot of stairs in the property, not an issue for us at all, and there were safety bannisters, but this may be an issue for anyone not good with stairs.
I love this house, I will definitely stay there again, and having stayed in various properties in the Plymouth area, this is my favourite.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$78
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Simon Anton B
44 07905 793464
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2008
Response Rate: 15 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 34 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing