We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“weekend away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Staff were brilliant nothing to much trouble, unfortunately the hotel didn't live up to the on line brochure it is quite dated (or certainly the rooms we stayed in "yes rooms") i don't think other quests helped as each time we walked out of our room all we could smell was cigarette smoke

Room Tip: sorry but at this time I wouldn't stay again
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Steve O

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you were well looked after by our staff. We have a continuous programme of refurbishment which sees us constantly working to create new and exciting bedrooms. It's a shame that you did not receive one of the many rooms that have already been completed.

I hope you may indeed choose to return in the future?

Many thanks,

P Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    191
    85
    42
    20
See reviews for
74
217
24
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Again down for a concert at the pavilions,back in large family room-207,well appointed and staff/atmosphere as good as ever,also handy for a walk on the ho,up to the national marine aquarium,nearby wetherspoons and central for shopping,plus parking.cant fault it for family stay,and handy for the ferry,not surprisingly given its history

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear justinthymeEngland

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we can welcome you back to the 'Duke' soon.

Kind regards,

P Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at The duke of cornwall fri 2nd-mon 5th Nov
The hotel has undergone a makeover and i must say how stunning it is!
The food was amazing and the staff as equal
Car park is useful and were plenty of spaces
Cant wait until i visit devon again and stay here!
Martin

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Martin U,

Thank you for your great review! We were all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we can welcome you back again soon!

All the very best to you both.

P. Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A superb 'Olde Worlde' feel to a most comfortable hotel, located very close to the Brittanny Ferries terminal and the city centre a few minutes walk. An excellent food of fayre, friendly staff, and an overall 'gem of Plymouth'

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Danskconsul,

Thank you for your kind review. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the food excellent and staff friendly. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

P. Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife & I stayed here only one night & our room was small & tired. No lift to the top floor. The staff were sort of helpful but the food was great. They have refurbished some rooms but mine was not one of them.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Forests2,

Thank you for your review. I'm not sure you are refering to the Duke of Cornwall. We have a lift which services every floor, the room you stayed in was room 510 which is a fairly large room and recently refurbished? Our staff are always helpful and our food is great! So thank you if those comments are for us?

Regards,

P.Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We made a fairly last minute booking and were upgraded by the family as a surprise. The staff were frriendly and helpful. Staying for 3 nights we had 3 good breakfasts and a very good dinner in the restaurant on one night. The hotel is very impressive from the outside and our room was very comfortable with a sitting area and HUGE TV!
Our only complaint would be the VERY thin sheets with blankets that somehow FELT unhygenic because the sheets were so thin (and low quality pillows too).
That said we enjoyed our stay and would go back (although only on a deal as this is not a very competitively priced hotel!), not least because they had taken heed of my dietary requests and everything I had requested was waiting for me each morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear REVFS

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

P.Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 days this week. The hotel looks fantastic outside and impressive inside. I arrived in the rain
. Parked in the free car park and checked in. Impressive staircase and features led to my small but comfy 3rd floor room. The room was overlooking the road but was quiet. The wind whistled through the old sash windows but it was warm and clean. The staff were friendly and efficient. All in it was a really nice stay and I will be returning. I didn't eat here as I walked down to the Barbican and enjoyed the atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear OnlySimon,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope for your next visit it's not raining and windy! Next time try our restaurant, it's award-winning and uses fresh local sustainable produce, a real treat.

Kind regards,

P.Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel

Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Duke of Cornwall, Plymouth's original character hotel, a treasure in the heart of Devon's city-by-the sea. Tower and turret, ballroom, oak panels, elaborate ceiling roses, sea views and cityscape. We have 72 rooms and suites, each with a unique view.Built during the Golden Age of steam, the Duke of Cornwall was Plymouth's first luxury hotel and provides first class accommodation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plymouth
Duke Of Cornwall Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.