We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic room, service and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
falmouth
1 review
“fantastic room, service and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I recently stayed at the Duke of Cornwall Hotel, on business over a weekend. I can honestly say that my room was delightful, the service exemplary and the breakfast unbeatable. I would recommend this hotel hands down. Enjoy. Also great location for shopping and the wonderful Barbican.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    190
    85
    42
    20
See reviews for
74
215
24
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We celebrated our Engagement Party at this hotel and it was a brilliant night. The staff were really friendly and flexible and helpful. I would recommend this venue for any function. The food was brilliant too. Thank you to everyone at the Duke of Cornwall Hotel for helping to make our night even more special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were in Plymouth (for the first time ever) for the wedding of our friend's son and she booked us all in at the Duke of Cornwall for 2 nights. It's an large Victorian hotel with lovely architecture, very grand when you drive up. We were in room 511, a large airey bedroom with big en-suite shower room (which had a proper opening window, always nice). We brought our own shower gels etc. but there were a few nice bits provided.

The bedroom had a flat screen tv on the wall, desk and chair, tea/coffee making facilities, armchair, wardrobe and bedside tables...Downstairs in the hotel was a nice large bar area with lots of leather chesterfield sofas and big dining room for breakfast, offering everything from continental to full English....the system was to help yourself to cereals, juice etc. and then order from the menu for cooked breakfast. The food and it's presentation was really good.
They currently have some renovations going on at the back of the hotel but it didn't disturb us at all.

It was a nice weekend stay and we would stay there again if down that way in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I come to Plymouth twice a year for work, and have stayed in other hotels, but will always now stay at the Duke of Cornwall where I've stayed on my past few visits. I was prompted to write this review because I was discussing my trip with another passenger on the train home to South Wales and she had also stayed in another Plymouth hotel than neither of us found to be of a good standard at all, and I realised I tend to only write reviews when something goes wrong on a trip, when I should also praise hotels like the Duke of Cornwall that has consistently provided excellent service each and every time I have stayed there. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, the rooms are a decent size and well maintained, the master rooms are lovely, and the food is plentiful and of a very good quality - excellent breakfasts as well as excellent dinner service in the restaurant. I look forward to coming back. Free internet access is available in the public areas, although I would prefer this available in the room too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Had a lovely break with friends whilst enjoying the best that Plymouth has to offer. A great surprise was the link with a local spa which was second to none and great value for a pamper afternoon followed up by an excellent 3 course dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

This weekend was the 30th Birthday party of a friend who chose to celebrate her day with a weekend in Plymouth at the Duke of Cornwall Hotel. I have stayed at the Duke before and again it didn’t disappoint- Absolutely brilliant weekend.

The Hotel had organised a spa treatment day with a local beauticians which was heavily discounted so a brilliant bargain. The Staff at the Duke of Cornwall then laid on Champagne before a Three course meal. All of us loved it, a particular favourite of mine was the Baked Trout stuffed with Fennel. Dessert was delicious and the Cup Cakes instead of a Birthday Cake was a really modern nice touch.

The rooms were clean, spacious and tasteful and the staff could not have been more helpful. Would definitely go there again and again for a Celebration or Event or even a romantic dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stayed here two nights on business at the end of June 2011. The first room i was put in was a twin room and very worn out and smelt of smoking so asked to be moved to a double as I usually have a double for single occupancy, was told the charge would increase to £83 per night. The second room did not smell but could not get any light into room as the window was on closed in fire escape I was too tired to complain again, I could not leave window open either as I had valuables and did not want any people looking in at me. Got a fan for the room as it was very hot but could not sleep due to the noise of it all night. The bed was worn out and uncomfortable and generally very tired room. The restaurant was very nice and the staff very cheerful and helpful, i had the rib eye steak and it was the best i eaten. Breakfast very good also, perfect for families as loads to choose from and all nicely presented. Free wifi which was good. Parking was a problem and was blocked in by parents dropping kids at nearby school one day, the next day i could not get a spot in very small car park so parked up a side street. I have a lot to carry so was not ideal for people with a lot of luggage, children or disability. Ideally located for BBC symphony Hall and the Brittany Ferry Port.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel

Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Duke of Cornwall, Plymouth's original character hotel, a treasure in the heart of Devon's city-by-the sea. Tower and turret, ballroom, oak panels, elaborate ceiling roses, sea views and cityscape. We have 72 rooms and suites, each with a unique view.Built during the Golden Age of steam, the Duke of Cornwall was Plymouth's first luxury hotel and provides first class accommodation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plymouth
Duke Of Cornwall Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.