We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by its cover!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chambers Restaurant & The Notte Bar

Chambers Restaurant & The Notte Bar
60 Notte Street, Plymouth PL1 2AG, England
01752 663266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 540 Restaurants in Plymouth
Price range: $2 - $2
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
plymouth
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I chose this venue for a joint birthday venue. There were 4 of us booked in. I must admit the place looked tired and probably could do with a bit of a makeover and it was quiet on arrival. However when the food arrived we were all completely stunned. We had all chosen something different and it was fantastic! Fresh, hot and delicious. We were also impressed by the waitress service, she came straight over with a jug of iced water with lemons and was very friendly. My friends said I had chosen well and we said we would have our Christmas meal there later this year. Don't judge a book by its cover, as my husband and I had a meal recently in Rocky's on the Barbican (because it looked trendy) and the food was awful. Highly recommend this restaurant! Being with good friends and having a laugh created the atmosphere. It's a pity more people don't give it a chance!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    30
    29
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I visited chambers with my friend on the7th may we both enjoyed our meal ,my friend had the fish and chips and boy the fish was big she thoroughly enjoyed her meal, I had the pork belly which was heavenly melted in your mouth. Will highly recommend this restaurant to my friends and family.Thumbs up for talented chef.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

On arriving me and my partner was greeted by a very welcoming young waitress, the drinks menu had a very good selection of drinks to choose from, i went for the 10 oz ribeye steak which was cooked exactly the way i asked for and my partner had the slow cooked belly pork which was very tender and she was very happy with it..i tried a bit of her pork with the cider sauce and have to say it was very nice..the home made chocolate mouse was also very nice. will be back to try more of the menu soon

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

So my mum booked this restaurant for her 30th wedding anniversary as it's now called '60' and she used to love chambers. She booked it for a Monday as a surprise for my dad. On arrival the place looked shut but we continued to walk to the door to find that they don't open on a Monday. This then ruined the night for my parents and we had to find somewhere else to eat. West ringing the restaurant the next day to then be told that it's a "young girl" in which was sacked along time ago. This however was not resolved straight away. After many calls they offered a free bottle of wine and 2 desserts which was very kind but feel it's not enough. An occasion they won't get back and the staff couldn't have been less bothered. Luckily we regained the night elsewhere.

But overall rubbish rubbish rubbish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Very attentive waitress nice surroundings lovely food and drinkies, steak was cooked perfectly, the chef dealed with a drunk customer very well, will definitely b back thanks

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chambers Restaurant & The Notte Bar also viewed

 

Been to Chambers Restaurant & The Notte Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambers Restaurant & The Notte Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.