We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Lodge Guest House

Save Saved
You added Pine Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pine Lodge Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lynway, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
pontypridd
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just what we needed........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at Pine Lodge for 1 night at the beginning of April. We arrived at about 8.30pm after spending the day in Lynmouth and at the Valley of the Rocks and were warmly greeted with a cup of tea and a piece of cake. We stayed in room 5 which had a separate sitting room with TV and en-suite which was lovely. Breakfast the next morning was excellent with fresh fruit and a freshly cooked English Breakfast.

We would definitely look at staying here again if we were in the area. The little touches really made a difference.

Hot tip - Don't try and reverse park into the car park. Drive in nose first or you'll never get back out :0)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
144
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This B&B really is a gem. The owners are very friendly and attentive. They really take pride in their guest house. The house has a lot of character, its warm and homely. The bedroom room no 4 twin bedded with an ensuite was very clean, the decor modern, nice quality and tasteful. The view from the room was beautiful. We saw two foxes playing, up on the hill in the distance, lots of species of birds. Apparently owls and deer have been seen too. Very quiet and away from the road. There's a lovely off road walk along tghe Lynway to Lynton (takes approx 15 mins) with lovely views of the town, lynmouth and beyond . Pub 100 yds away. Lots of local walks, long or short. We walked to the Valley of the Rocks and Watersmeet in a day, the scenery is stunning.
Breakfast was excellent. Had a traditional vegetrian which was all cooked to perfection, hot and tasty. There was a choice of cereals, fruit juices, fresh fruit and homemade yoghurt as well. Acafetiere of good quality coffee.
Lots of little touches about this b&b that make it stand out from the rest
This is the place to stay in Lynton!! I cannot fault it at all.

Room Tip: room 4 has wonderful views from the bedroom and en suite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

There are many small touches that show that the owners take great pride in their B&B - and that pride ultimately results in an outstanding experience. The location is great (close to a pub and Lynton), the clean accommodation features a brilliant breakfast (tasty fresh fruit, eggs and toast better than I've had anywhere, homemade yogurt, french-press coffee), soft new bed linen, high-quality towels, homemade biscuits in the room, and while it seems odd to mention it - soft loo roll! Other hosts may take the opportunity to save a bit of money here and there, but it's clear these friendly and knowledgable owners are willing to make the extra effort to make sure their guests have the best possible time. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Pine lodge is a beautiful Victorian guesthouse set in stunning surroundings, the perfect base from which to explore the surrounding countryside. The location of Pine Lodge is very unique in that it feels very private and secluded (adding to the feeling of ultimate calm and relaxation), yet there is the convenience of the shops of Lynton which are only a few minutes walk away. The view from the room we stayed in and the breakfast room are simply breathtaking, just what you would expect from the English countryside only better. Where else can you wake up to the sound of flowing water, clean country air and views of deer grazing on the hills nearby. We stayed for 3 nights and John and Linda could not have been more friendly and helpful hosts. Everything is of superb quality and nothing is too much trouble, whether it is drying your wet clothes after a long walk to advising on the best way to drive around the local roads- which was greatly appreciated! The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated with a very comfortable bed, TV and tea/coffee making facilities, with homemade cookies. The towels are so unbelievably soft that they exceed even the finest spa quality, which was a very welcome bonus! All of the furniture in the room we stayed in was only a few weeks old, so added to the fresh clean feel of this guesthouse. It is very obvious that a lot of care and attention to detail has been considered in all aspects of this guesthouse, making it a wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable experience for guests. Breakfast is very well presented and everything is locally sourced, with a lovely selection of cereals and fruits and the most delicious homemade yogurt you could possibly imagine. There is also a great selection of cooked/hot breakfast choices to pick from, all the ones we tried were lovely. John and Linda are very knowledgeable about the local area and about Exmoor and so we managed to see lots of stunning scenery and explore the local area both by walking and by car for further away places. The shops of Lynton are a few minutes walk away, but we would recommend taking the scenic route so that you can appreciate the magnificent sea views. They can also recommend great local places to eat and in particular we enjoyed the ambience and wonderful food at The Culbone, which is about a 10-15minute drive from Pine Lodge. The pub at the bottom of the hill from Pine Lodge (about a one minute walk) was also lovely for good homely food, all of which is locally sourced. It is quite obvious to see why they were recently awarded a certificate of excellence and then the travellers choice award from Tripadvisor. We are quite fussy when it comes to accommodation away from home but John and Linda far exceeded our expectations on everything and we would highly, highly recommend this charming guesthouse with its perfect hosts to anyone planning a relaxing getaway to this beautiful part of Devon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "superking ensuite- lyn valley view" room, which was wonderful and has gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I visited PL recently and had a great stay. The place is very well cared for and the owners, John and Linda, went out of their way to ensure all that I needed was available, including a bottle of fizz! The food was of a high quality and cooked to perfection. The rooms are great and very spacious for a B&B, whilst the areas available downstairs also add to the feeling of being in a larger place. The area is beautiful and being just out of town, albeit walking distance, added to the feeling of calm and relaxation. John and Linda were excellent hosts throughout the visit and I was particularly grateful for Johns help with a little problem I had - where there was darkness, there is now light!

Room Tip: Front of the property has fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

John and Linda were fantastic hosts. They made us feel very welcome and could not have been more helpful. They gave us lots of very useful information and advice about local walks and facilities, and even prepared lovely homemade cake and hot drinks for us upon our arrival.
Breakfasts were delicious and generous, and there was a good range of choices, vegetarians were well catered for and there was even decaff filter coffee!
We had a very comfortable room, and there was also a lounge for guests to relax in which was very cosy and had a good selection of board games for us to choose from.
The guesthouse was in a good location, we had a lovely view over the valley and it was a short walk into town. There was also a nice local pub at the bottom of the road where we enjoyed a couple of nice meals, and the staff there were very friendly. We will definitely be recommending Pine Lodge Guest House to others, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

3 wonderful nights, John and Linda are fantastic hosts meeting and greeting with a welcome cuppa and nice cake.The standard of the house and all the rooms are top quality, the breakfast selection is good and quality is excellent. Plenty of advice on walks and places to visit. Talking of places to visit the pub at the end of the lane ( 2mins walk ) is the perfect place to finish the day , serving good food at a good price and a lounge area to relax with a coffee, warming yourself in front of the open fire. All in all a 10 out of 10 is the correct score for John and Linda.

Room Tip: room 5 has a nice lounge area, two of the rooms have baths as well as showers 4 and 1 i think, 2,3 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pine Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lodge Guest House

Address: Lynway, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Lodge Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian guest house situated on the West Lyn Valley overlooking the Watersmeet Estate. Private car park on same level as house. Quiet , peaceful location with no passing traffic. Footpaths to Exmoor start at our own front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Pine Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lodge Guest House Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.