We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days of loveliness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added North Cliff Hotel to your Saves list
North Cliff Hotel
North Devon, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Horley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 days of loveliness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My partner, daughter and I have just got home from a lovely 3 nights with Kate at the North Cliff Hotel. The view from the hotel is just amazing and the village has various places to eat just a short walk away. The cliff train down to Lynmouth is just around the corner to. The breakfast was lovely and the room spacious and exceptionally clean. Perfect

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Yet another amazing trip to beautiful Lynton. Kate again made us very welcome in her beautiful sympathetically designed and decorated victorian hotel. Immaculately clean as always, super yummy breakfast. I really couldn't recommend this hotel enough. For those negative comments, please remember this hotel is a two star hotel, it's really so much more than this. Really good value for money. Please pay Kate and the north cliff hotel a visit, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel has a stunning view across the coast and is conviniently located at the top of the railway for easy access down the cliff face to Lynmouth and the coast. We took our two dogs, they loved exploring the area, and everyone was very dog friendly. There are some sweet seaside pubs in Lynmouth and we found four dog friendly pubs for evening meals. There were two more in Lynton too.

The hotel iself very clean and spacious. The room itself could have done with a lick of paint and it was rather on the small side, but with such a lovely view it wasn't a big deal, and it was very clean which is the main thing.

The full english breakfast the next day was served in a lovely sunny room and tasted absolutely delicious. The staff were all friendly and welcoming, and readily gave advice on the area.

As above, the building and rooms do appear dated in parts, but I would recommend this hotel for the view, cleanliness, doggie friendlness and yummy breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Hotel is situated overlooking Lynmouth and the view is amazing.

There is hardly any parking, its okay if you are the first guests to arrive, but then you can't get your car out in the morning!!

The reception was unmanned and every time you needed something you had to ring a bell!

The interior of the hotel is very jaded and needs a thorough overhaul.

Our room was clean but I haven't stayed in a room this tired for a long time!!! Wood chip paper, that was peeling off the walls in places, an ensuite that if you were bigger than a size 16 you would have struggled to get into!! Every time a guest flushed their toilet our room shook and sounded like somebody was drilling through the walls!!!! You can put up with it occasionally but in the middle of the night it's not so funny! It got so bad my husband recorded it

Having said all that the breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked and served very efficiently.

I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, it's the best thing about the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel appealed to us as we could take our dog and you would have no idea it was a dog hotel, it was immaculately clean and a great set up for dog owners and walkers alike with an entrance room all equipped for cleaning and drying off.
The rooms were a little old fashioned but it is being modernised and they have everything you could need.
Kate was lovely and made the place feel very homely and she cooks a mean breakfast :)

Room Tip: Ensure your room is far away from the railway if you want to sleep in. It’s not loud however it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel booking was last minute and am so glad we picked to stay here, and the bonus is they allow dogs. The room was clean, no signs of it being a dog friendly hotel in that there was no smell or hair etc, it is not the most modern of rooms, but a nice clean bed and plenty of space makes up for that. The view was FABULOUS, location FABULOUS, freindly family feel. The breakfast was lovely and a lovely little bar to grab a drink and sit next to the famous cliff railway.

We only planned to stay one night. We stopped off at Porlock, Dunster, Minehead and Watchet thinking we may stay at one of these places the next day, but within 4 hours of leaving..... luckily our room was still available and we rushed back.

Will stay here again for sure and thank you so much for making an impromptu trip to Devon one of the best I have had for a long time.

Room Tip: You need to get a room with a view over to the east of the coast, you could sit and watch that view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

POSITIVES:
Lovely friendly feel
- Friendly, helpful staff
- Keeps you fit if you walk the hill to Lynton every day (take a torch if walking at night as limited lighting)
- On the path of some lovely walks
-Beautiful views from the bedroom
-Lovely breakfast everyday
-Nice to have the option of a lounge and bar and restaurant in the hotel (although we didn't use it)
SUGGESTIONS
- Would be nice to have some info about the restaurant in the hotel in the room so we knew when breakfast was, and what nights there was the dinner option etc (but this is a very small and really not negative comment!)

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view - the views are amazing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Address: North Devon, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of The North Cliff Hotel. All our 14 en-suite rooms have some of the finest sea and coastal views in North Devon. Situated on The South West Coastal Path with the famous water powered Cliff Railway linking Lynton and Lynmouth passing within a few feet of the hotel. We welcome children, dogs and groups and have a car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Lynton
North Cliff Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Cliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.