We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Seawood Hotel to your Saves list
The Seawood Hotel
North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
cambridgeshire uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

wish we could have stayed longer. very welcoming guesthouse. thanks to andy for info and lovely breakfasts. the whole place is quiet, peaceful and just a nice place to be in.....its got to be the best in area
sue and john

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    17
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
185
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Russ and Karinda are wonderful hosts. We stayed in room 10 - (Lynmouth Bay) could not fault any aspect of the room or the bathroom and the views are beautiful. Ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel both were fantastic. We will be recommending this beautiful gem to all our family and friends. Can't wait to go back

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

'If only'.......all small sub-10 bedroomed privately owned hotels in this country were as delightful, so......... 'thank goodness' for The Seawood Hotel. All the positive observations to date precisely reflect our experience. This hotel represents a benchmark and a lesson in how to run a hotel efficiently and well given the increasing & ludicrous impositions imposed by endless new government regulations. How sad then that The Seaward and others also have to tolerate mean spirited inaccurate reviews from those with absolutely no business acumen or knowledge of the hospitality industry. I support Russ in challenging tripadvisor to investigate untruthful reviews written with the sole intention to damage a businesses reputation.

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view will be a joy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I recently spent one week at Seawood.
From the moment I arrived I received such a warm welcome and that warm and friendly treatment continued the whole week.
The food was superb and the evening meals provided a great choice and were as good as or better than many I have had in more expensive restaurants throughout the the country.
My room was clean, tidy, comfortable and was always made up and replenished with light refreshments by the time I returned in the evenings.
I am already looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Seawood, sadly for just one night. We were made very welcome, it is a beautiful house in a fantastic location. Breakfast was great, we also had our supper at the Exmoor pizza and pasta restaurant run by Russ. Very good pizza! We will be back for longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here for a few days for our wedding anniversary and had a lovely stay.
The owners, Russ and Kerinda are a really friendly couple and go out of their way to make you feel welcome in their hotel.
The hotel location is well situated for local walks to Watersmeet and Valley of Rocks.
The rooms themselves are spacious and very comfortable as are the beds which are needed after long walks along the coast.
We ate in a couple of nights sampling their evening menu and found the food excellent. They accommodated my food allergy really well preparing specific options and cooked a wonderful steak to perfection.
In all the hotel was a great find and really relaxing.Thank you.

Room Tip: we booked directly with the hotel as this proved to be the best deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely amazing. Beautiful hotel, great food, fantastic location, Russ and Kerinda couldn't do enough for us. We were made to feel so welcome and even our dog, Arthur, had a sausage for breakfast. Would truly recommend it, thank you for a wonderful stay x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seawood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.