We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Seawood Hotel to your Saves list
The Seawood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St Albans
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a lovely 3 night stay in the Seawood Hotel. It is in a lovely location, right next to the Lynton & Lynmouth Cliff Railway. The hotel has lovely views and the bedrooms are beautifully furnished. The food was excellent and I can highly recommend the kippers for breakfast! Russ and Kerinda are perfect hosts and they have created a lovely welcoming atmosphere. We enjoyed sitting in the bar chatting to the guests, comparing notes for walks and excursions. You will love staying here, book it!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which has a lovely bathroom and dual aspect windows with a lovely view. Very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
191
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked a two day break here to spend with my Brother and his wife and we have just returned from a wonderful weekend. The hotel owners were perfect hosts attending to our every need with a very professional friendly welcoming style which enabled us to settle in well and enjoy the weekend. The rooms were very nice, freshly refurbished bathrooms. We had breakfast both days and had an evening meal on the Saturday, all meals were wonderful. There is a lounge and a separate bar area where we spent our evenings after the meal. Well done to Russ and Kerinda.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 21-25 September and had a lovely time. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and were really keen to do their part to ensure we had a great time, all we had to do was ask. The hotel itself is really lovely and comfortable. We stayed in the top floor suite which was absolutely perfect for our needs. Lovely comfortable bed with a tv in both the lounge (with sky) & bedroom. Breakfast was excellent & we had 1 evening meal although to be honest we could have eaten here every night had we not wanted to explore what Lynton had to offer which was actually a lot! Have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel & definitely hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Seawood Hotel for two nights in September, which certainly lives up to its status of 'boutique hotel' and has a very striking entrance hall. Our room was beautifully decorated with an extremely comfortable bed, attractive furnishings, a great bathroom and wonderful views from both the bedroom and bathroom. There is a nice, comfortable bar area, which was well provided with reading material about the local area. The location near to the Valley of the Rocks, the cliff railway (and hence to Lynmouth and Watersmeet) is really good. Breakfast was also very good. We visited the Oak Room in Lynton for dinner on the Sunday night (booking recommended) and had a lovely choice of tapas or main dishes, all served by very friendly and courteous staff.

Room Tip: If you have any difficulties climbing stairs, it is probably better to choose a room lower down as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, in a lovely hillside location overlooking the sea. The hosts Russ & Corinda were superb, with Russ showing us round the hotel on arrival and suggesting some things to do. Breakfast was excellent and very accommodating to special requests etc. Our room, the Foreland, was spacious, well decorated with lovely views over the sea. The room was kept clean and the beds comfortable. It's really very hard to criticise - we were very happy and Lynton is a good choice for exploring the Exmoor area (Valley of Rocks & Watersmeet walkable from the hotel). The Sky box with Sky Movies was an added bonus. I haven't stayed at such a good hotel in a long time.

Would also recommend trying the Oak Room restaurant in Lynton - great tapas.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

15th-18th August 2013.
After reading many of the excellent comments and reviews of Seawood Hotel we booked it up to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary..
Russ and Kerinda are without doubt two very special people, the service they and their staff provide is second to none and they should be proud of themselves.
One could write a long winded review of our stay but to be frank there is no need as all of this has been mentioned before.
From start to finish our stay was just wonderful so all we need to write is thank you Seawood Hotel and we hope to see you soon.
Howard & Julie
Royal Wootton Bassett

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is in a prime spot and the sea views are stunning. I could have stayed in and just gazed out of the window all day, but there was lots to do in the area so we were tempted out of the hotel. The room was put together very well and was modern and stylish. The bed was very, very comfortable; probably the best I've ever slept in. Breakfast was delicious and included lots of choice. I overheard other guests being very exacting about how they wanted their eggs cooked, which made me smile, but the hosts were courteous and extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seawood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seawood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.