We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven once more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Seawood Hotel to your Saves list
The Seawood Hotel
North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Heaven once more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was my third time staying at Seawood. I live in New Jersey so come quite a long way, but it is worth it - even the weather was beautiful. Russ and Kerinda are truly great hosts, and each time I have happily seen all the improvements they make yearly - Seawood is now a perfect boutique hotel and a joy to stay in. Thank you Russ and Kerinda, and yes, hopefully, I shall come back once more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    17
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
185
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel, starting from when we arrived and no one was there except other guests, who greeted us. It is in a good location, right next to the cable car to Lynmouth. There was no wi-fi in the room (Ruddy Ball) or mobile reception in the hotel, but a day without that is OK. Also missing were bar soap, toilet paper (which I found that in another room down the hall that was unused), and wash cloths, but that is a common problem. There was little shelf space in the bathroom and a very narrow bath/shower combination. There is a very modern light above the sink, turned on and off by a wave of the hand, but you turn it on and off just by using the single tap spigot! There are enough lights and electrical outlets, but none are well placed to use a hair dryer. The bed was probably a Queen size, definitely not a King as advertised, and I banged my knee into the knee-buster bed posts a number of times (they are very low and stick out quite far from the bed). The food was good; the locale quiet, and we had a nice walk out to the Point of Rocks. I probably would look elsewhere to stay the next time if I were to return to Lynton/Lynmouth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerindag, Owner at The Seawood Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your interesting review.

Things we can address:

1. If guests are unhappy about anything, eg soap, flannels, toilet rolls or room. Please tell us, we are unable to guess. We would have been able to address all of these.

Soap - we use liquid soap and bath/shower gel as part of our green policy because waste is lower. We have a stock of bar soap if you needed it
Flannels/wash cloths. Most people in the UK prefer to use their own flannels however, we could have supplied if asked
Toilet rolls - sometimes our housekeepers make mistakes, sometimes as you did, other guests can remove toilet rolls from open rooms. We are sorry about this, however, we have an open door policy for unoccupied rooms and if an item is missing, please ask!
Room - We had available super-kingsize bedded rooms. We could have switched your room if you had spoken to us

2. Regarding mobile/cell reception - you did ask - and we gave you free unlimited use of the hotel phone for your calls.

3. Regarding reception, you were left unattended when you arrived for a period of 2 minutes whilst I was helping another guest who needed medication.

4. Regarding wi-fi. We do not advertise as available in the bedrooms. However we have good signal in the public rooms

5. We are an English hotel in England, For the benefit of foreign travellers. UK king-size beds are 5'. All of our beds are a minimum of this size

Things we cannot address

1. We are not in charge of the national mobile/cell coverage

2. We did not crash your car when you left it unattended in gear on your way to the hotel

3. Small roads are fact of life in England and here in Lynton you are in the middle of a national park

3. We are not responsible for your credit card being declined

In conclusion

I suspect that your trip here was tainted by factors outside of our control. People that come to Lynton are not looking for a national hilton style hotel and are looking for something a bit more quirky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great hotel and would certainly go back. The owners, Russ and Kerinda were excellent hosts and i think you would have to go a long way to beat the cooking, both at dinner and breakfast. The room was clean, big and to a very good standard. One of the most comfortable mattresses i have slept on. The view was amazing! Ideal spot for walks along the Valley of the Rocks and also into Lynton. The cable car to Lynmouth is close by. If you are looking for something special then you won't do much better than this. Looks like most visitors feel the same!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a wonderful three days at Seawood. Russ and Kerinda were kind and attentive hosts.
Our room was lovely, high-end and the view was spectacular. The atmosphere through the hotel is comfortable and relaxed with a pleasant sitting area and a cosy bar.

The breakfast menu was extensive and the food was wonderful. We only had dinner at the Seawood one evening as we also wanted to sample some spots in Lynton which were fine but the choice is limited. Our one dinner at the Seawood was excellent - should have had more there!

Thanks Russ and Kerinda, it was a delightful experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Seawood Hotel is an excellent choice.
Very comfortable rooms. This time we stayed in the Countisbury suite. Previously we have stayed in Ragged Jack. Well decorated, very bright and clean. Lovely bathrooms.
Russ and Karinda are very freindly and always want to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Beautiful views out to sea from most if not all windows.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel. A very good choice and all very tasty and well presented.

Room Tip: Any room is a fabulous room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in May. The hotel is in a beautiful location in the cliffs at Lynton with wonderful views over Lynmouth and beyond. The welcome from Russ and Kerinda was very encouraging and nothing disappointed - the room, the decor, the food (breakfast and dinner), ambience were all excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have to stay in a lot of hotels for my work, but this was unlike any I've ever stayed in. It was a perfect choice for a wedding anniversary and well deserving of the ratings it's achieved. Russ and Kerinda couldn't do more to make us feel welcome and comfortable. It's a delight to find hotel managers who clearly care about their 'product'. Comfortable rooms and soooo quiet! Exmoor is stunning, too, and you are a short walk from some of its most stunning sights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seawood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.