We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a quiet weekend away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exmoor Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Exmoor Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Barbrook | Nr Lynton, Devon, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ideal for a quiet weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for two nights with my partner over a weekend and was very pleased. We stayed in room two which was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable with plenty of complimentary coffee and tea! We slept very well both nights - the room did get a little cold so i hope the heating is good un winter. The staff were friendly and happy to chat in the adjoining pub bar, if a little run off their feet. The atmosphere was very laid back and welcoming, especially with their self-advertised 'pets and muddy boots welcome' policy. Free breakfast was a welcome bonus with a good choice and made to order cooked breakfast, which was unfortunately a little lukewarm on serving but nevertheless well cooked and tasty. The location is beautiful, as is the old house itself and ideally placed to benefit from both local attractions and some rural peace and quiet - just be prepared for the killer hills if your car is a little fragile! Overall a lovely little place and would return again.

Room Tip: Room 2 is pretty, cosy and has a French door on to the lawn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
7
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We've just came back from 2 days staying at Exmoor Manor Hotel. We had such a lovely time. We wanted to be there for one night, but after couple of hours there we decided to stay for one more night! Staff was very friendly!! Every morning we had full english breakfast which was very tasty. Room was tidy and had a nice english style, also pub near this hotel had really nice old style. We definitely recommend this place for staying;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLYMOUTH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Lovely old manor house B&B. A little worn around the edges but room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was plentiful and good quality. The hosts were friendly and welcoming and very hard working. They also own the adjoining pub and we ate in there in the evenings - good pub grub and a lovely pint. Very well located for exploring the coast and exmoor but you would need a car - Lynton & Lynmouth is only a five minute drive away. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

just come back from here, the location was peaceful and the scenery,beautiful.however, unfort
unatly the hotel needs alot of tlc!.there was only one girl who seemed to do everything!she was the owners grandaughter, and i cant praise her enough,as she was chief ,cook and bottle washer,she apeared to have absolutely no help. the owners have got a great location but they need to inject alot more time and money into it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The welcome wasn't. The staff were vacant and uninterested. The meals came out luke warm and we had to eat it quickly before it got completely. Unfortunately no one came to check how it was. They got very confused when we came to pay, they had put the main and desserts on separate tabs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Can't comment on the Hotel but visited with a group of friends, as we were staying at the neighbouring campsite, for a pre-booked meal for 13 of us. ( Note: they knew we were coming). There was only 1 person serving at the bar and taking food orders so initial service was slow. Gin and tonics were served with no Ice and lemon. We helped out by writing our own food order and then waited.....and waited....and waited. The meals started to appear just over an hour later. Cold plates. overcooked veg, small portions and it took so long to serve us all that some had finished their meal before some were served. To be fair our dissatisfaction was noticed and the excuse was it was a new chef and we were offered a round of complimentory drinks. Needless to say we went somewhere else the next evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Exmoor Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor Manor Hotel

Address: Barbrook | Nr Lynton, Devon, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Exmoor Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor Manor Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exmoor Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.