We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and warm hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highcliffe House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Highcliffe House to your Saves list
Highcliffe House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Sinai Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6 AR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
217 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
“Great views and warm hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We booked the Highcliffe as a base for a first visit to Exmoor: it could not have been better. The house is easily visible above Lynton and the directions provided by the staff were excellent (once we located the B3234 - almost better to just go to Lynton and start from there). The last climb is pretty vertical and the parking is narrow, so a large van might be difficult.

The hosts are warm and friendly, offered tea outside with a magnificent view across the Bay. Check-in was handled will, with lots of good local tips, and the room was clean and well maintained. The views from the room were stunning: definitely get a sea view if available. The bed is wide and comfortable, the little sitting area by the windows was cozy to watch sunset and sunrise. There was a flat screen TV, coffee-tea service, free wifi, and ample plugs. The bathroom was clean and well ordered, good cross ventilation through the room. There was good hot water with moderate pressure.

Breakfast is ordered the night before from a large variety of a la carte mains; juices, fruits, and cereals are laid out for everyone. The sunroom where breakfast is served is great, and people get to recognize one another in the mornings, Everything is well prepared and gives a good start to the day.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    9
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
97
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Hallam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Highcliffe House. We did wonder where we were going when we drove up the hill but it is worth it as the views are stunning. We were welcomed by Mike and Karen, shown to the room and offered a cream tea. We stayed in Mrytleberry which was just as it appears on the pictures on the website. The balcony is lovely to sit out on after a day out or to watch the sun go down. Lots of choice for breakfast which was always cooked fresh. Mike had lots of information about the area and which were nice walks. We walked from Woody Bay to the Hunters Inn with some stunning view and then from Highcliffe to Warersmeet and back along the river to Lynmouth. Nothing is too much trouble and Mike and Karen are there when you need them. Thank you for a lovely stay and we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I fear by writing this review I will be doomed to never get a reservation here because it was by far the most comfortable, best linens and superb food in the area. Once you stay here every other b&b seems ordinary. Karen and Mike are delightful, warm and welcoming. The views from the room are spectacular. At the end of our 3 week journey, we all voted Highcliffe the most luxurious of all the b&b's. Whatever they'd do, they do it right because we just could not find fault with anything.

Room Tip: There are stairs involved with your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I have just come back from a two night stay at the highcliff house, Lynton..
From the moment you turn up the steep little road you know it's leading to something special. The house itself and views are breathtaking, inside it is spotless, comfortable and very welcoming..the owner mike greeted us, showed us around and then when we were settled served up a lovely cup of tea with scones. We stayed in the myrtle berry room with its own private balcony overlooking the sea.... Breakfast was very nice, and nothing is too much trouble.. Also if you need any advice on local walks or attractions mike is the one to speak to.
In all honesty we could not find any faults at all in our stay here, and if we are ever in the area again this would be the first place we would call.

Room Tip: We had the myrtle berry room with its own balcony overlooking the sea, from what we could see this w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Lets keep this short and sharp...

Positives...
- Absolutely lovely couple run it.
- Really accommodating.
- Spotlessly clean.
- Excellent breakfast menu selection and beautifully made. (even fresh croissants)
- Lovely views right across Lynton to the sea.
- Great homely, quaint & comfortable rooms. (nice personal touches - great lamp!)

Negatives...
- Nothing... I literally mean nothing! It was Perfect.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a sea view. One doesn't but they will tell you when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

It was our first visit to Devon arriving in from a long journey from the north west coast of Ireland. We couldn't have been more warmly welcomed. The decor, furniture and ambiance a treat. Karen and Mick have put their souls into making Highcliffe House a holiday retreat to remember fondly. the breathtaking views are matched with a delicious breakfast fare. Lynton and North Devon a must see holiday destination..(from someone who lives in one of the most beautiful places in Ireland.)

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a sea view to maximise the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have just returned from a great stay at Highcliffe House. We stayed in myrtleberry, the room was large and had a balcony with fab views, the bed could not have been more comfortable. The breakfasts were great, amazing choices. Mike was a good source of advice for suggestions for walks and drives. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highcliffe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highcliffe House

Address: Sinai Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6 AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Highcliffe House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Highcliffe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highcliffe House Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highcliffe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.