We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ingleside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ingleside Hotel to your Saves list
Ingleside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   off Lee Road | on the side of Hollerday Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Ingleside and we had the evening meals as well.
Everything was "top class", the food ,the environment ,the rooms, and Diana and Keith were delightful hostess and host, always willing to go the extra mile to please.
This was one of the best walking breaks we have had.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The rooms are comfortable with an excellent bed and well appointed ensuites. The comfortable sitting room was a great way to relax and had a delightful jigsaw to tempt the relaxing traveller. The town is a two minute walk down the hill. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Having stayed in other guest houses in Lynton we found 'Ingleside' about 5 years ago and have not looked back. We visit Lynton with another couple for a 3 night stay every year and 'Ingleside' is always spotlessly clean, with excellent home cooked dinner and breakfast with friendly hosts Diana & Keith. Yes access to the car park is acute but if your up to driving in the area you will be OK. My pal and I love the bread and butter pud fantastic, I think Keith's Mum cookes it specially for us, well I'de like to think so.

Room Tip: All spotlessly clean, rooms at the front have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights at Ingleside. Diana and Keith were gracious hosts. Our room was on the second floor (third floor for us Americans) with a full view of the town of Lynton and the hills beyond. Everything was clean and tidy. Diana gave us directions to Valley of the Rocks, and we went there shortly after arrival. The next day, she told us how to get to the Cliff Railway to Lynmouth. Just a short walk, then a ride on the Victorian era railway, a fun ride.

Breakfast was nicely done by Keith with his mighty AGA.

Our only problem was getting into Ingleside's car park. Part of the driveway is shared with another building and the turn from it to get to Ingleside is very acute. Once we solved that, everything was fine.

We highly recommend Ingleside Hotel and Lynton for your Exmoor visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Spent three nights in Ingleside during first week of May, and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Keith and Diana are super hosts who make you feel at home right from the start, the food is first class and the service will not be better anywhere else .
The accommodation is kept in very good condition and we found our room very comfortable. If you are looking for the room size that you might expect in a modern hotel - this may not be for you - Ingleside is a homely place and in our estimation better for it.
We agree with all the previous positive comments.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. From our first greeting at the door we were made to feel like honoured guests and nothing was too much trouble. We were served with tea in the guest lounge which is very welcoming and comfortable. Our room was pleasant, clean and well furnished, my only gripe being that the mattress didn't seem the right size for the bed frame so that the pillows had a tendency to fall through the gap, but apart from that everything was very nice. Breakfast was delicious with a good choice. The location is excellent, very central in Lynton, although would not be good if steep hills and stairs are a problem. We didn't use our car the whole time we were there as there are beautiful walks on the doorstep and restaurants just a few minutes walk away. We would definitely stay there again and recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Booked very late (night before). Lovely room with beautiful view. Very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast very tasty and good choice. Had a lovely stay for 3 nights and certainly would stay there again and recommend. My only slight gripe would be that the single bed was a "put you up" and not very comfortable with a thin mattress for my daughter (an adult)
Every other thing was great. Evening meals were offered - we did not partake but the menu looked tempting.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ingleside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingleside Hotel

Address: off Lee Road | on the side of Hollerday Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ingleside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ingleside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ingleside Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ingleside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.