We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food - restaurant standard in beautiful pub atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Inn

The Cottage Inn
Lynbridge, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NR, England
01598752048
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 23 Restaurants in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a family run pub set in the heart of Exmoor. Recently refurbished to high standards we are proud to offer well kept real ales, wines etc. alongside home cooked quality food. Sit by the open fire with a drink or sit & eat at one of our riverside tables & watch the wildlife. Our food is freshly cooked, we do our best to get it to you quickly but it isn't 'fast food'.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredible food - restaurant standard in beautiful pub atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The food was truly delicious. Best ribs we have ever tasted! All dishes were perfectly cooked, locally sourced and really good value for money. Will definitely be back here when next in lynton. Thank you for such a lovely meal with fab service to boot! If you are in lynton and want superb pub food - this place is certaibly a winner, dont miss out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare P, Owner at The Cottage Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi there
Thankyou so much for your review, it means alot to all of us.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowerhill
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Warm welcome....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We received a very warm welcome as soon as we stepped in the door of the Cottage Inn. The beer was good as was the roaring fire and atmosphere. We ate a delicious meal and were sat overlooking the river which was a lovely experience. The service to table was excellent and nothing was too much trouble at any stage of the evening. A top place to go for a meal and couple of relaxing beers; thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare P, Owner at The Cottage Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi & thankyou for your lovely review.
It's lovely to hear nice things, we do try to make everyone welcome.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fab location, great staff (small food portions but tasty)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent an evening in The Cottage Inn to start the New Year and was in awe of the beautiful location by the River Lynn, very picturesque setting and very handy location by the Sunny Lynn Campsite.

Jess (the barmaid) was very friendly and the Inn was clean and well maintained. I noticed an area with a woodburner an comfortable seating. The menu prices were quite steep for the starters and when our main courses arrived we were a little disappointed by the portion size.

I can imagine that in the summer, sat by the river with a cold beer this location would far outweigh the portion size sadness to make this a great venue for socialising!

There is a vast network of well established and well signposted footpaths in this area making it great for walking. If you are on foot walking from the town of Lynton - dig in and brave the steep gradient climb up to the Inn.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare P, Owner at The Cottage Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hi there & thanks for your review.
Very glad you enjoyed your visit. Quite frankly I don't know what was going on with the portion sizes that day as people normally say the opposite! If you come back, please make yourselves known to one of us & we'll make sure we 'load you up' as it were :-)
Many thanks again & take care
Kind regards
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful trout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had early dinner at the cottage Inn and ate excellent trouts - very big ones! It was only strange for us, that we had to order dinner at the bar - but I guess, we have been there pretty early. Service was good and the site is very nice!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamma-pGB, Owner at The Cottage Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hi there, thankyou for you review. We do seem to be getting quite a few compliments about our fish dishes.
Once again, thankyou & hpoe to see you again.
Kind regards
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Milfontes
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Convenient!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Ambience was a little lacking, the Fish and chips were good but the wine was considerable overpriced. It is very convenient to the Pine Lodge Guest House, however!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamma-pGB, Owner at The Cottage Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hi there, I have to say I do remember you coming in to our pub. I'm afraid it is very difficult to create 'instant ambience' when there are only the two customers in but we do try. I'm sorry you feel that we didn't get it right for you but it appears from your reviews that most of Lynton & Lynmouth didn't either. Regarding the wine prices, we are in line with and cheaper than other establishments in the area.
Kind regards
Clare Perriam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Inn also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.