We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Save
You added Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel to your Saves list
Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TURKEY AND TINSEL BREAKS
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
oldbury
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Spent a weekend break there at the end of July 2013 and had a wonderful time. I was worried as we went to our room (room 50) as the stairs and corridors looked a bit grim but needn't have worried as the room was outstanding and even had a sea view. Service and food was excellent in the restaurant. I can especially recommend the chef's specials. Definitely will be booking again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments.
We are pleased you had a wonderful time staying with us in Lynton.
We are also pleased you enjoyed the food and service in our restaurant and our chefs specials, We look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    111
    65
    46
    31
See reviews for
39
191
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My sister and I stayed at this hotel on a National Holidays trip from Friday 26th July to Monday 29th July. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment. We stayed in room 10 which has had work done. New beds and furnishings, new floorcovering and curtains, redecoration, new tiling to the bathroom, a large bath but no shower, small flat screen television. This room overlooks the frontage of the hotel and has a view of the converted old stables and a bank building with a decorative display of planting between the two. The staff are friendly and efficient. There is a good choice on the menu and the food was of a very acceptable standard. The staff work extremely hard at breakfast and dinner in order to keep the service going. There was entertainment on Friday and Saturday evenings and it was of a good standard. Both nights were singer/guitarists but with their own differing styles. Our coach was provided via Yelloway Coaches although the trip was booked through National Holidays. Our driver was pleasant, extremely competent on the narrow, winding lanes, obviously an experienced driver with a professional attitude to the job. We took a trip down the cliff railway to Lynmouth, a lovely little village with quaint little shops beside the river. A walk to Valley of Rocks took us about an hour round trip. Great! A really good value for money break! Well done to management and staff of the hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you, Irene J for posting your comments; we are pleased you and your sister enjoyed your recent holiday with us in Lynton. We are also pleased you enjoyed the food, entertainment and that you found our staff to be “friendly and efficient”.
We will send a copy of your lovely comments to National Holidays; we are sure the driver will be happy to read them.
We hope you will visit us again soon, and enjoy more of the fantastic walks in this beautiful part of North Devon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Although an older hotel in need of a little TLC, it is being gradually refurbished and we were lucky enough to be in a recently decorated room with updated facilities. The view from our window was of countryside and sea. Entertainment was average but the food was wonderful. There was a varied choice in the evening on all courses and more than enough when it arrived. It was presented and cooked well and we couldn`t fault it. I fail to see how anyone can criticise food here. The hotel is in a very convenient position on top of Lynton looking down on Lynmouth. From here you can do a circular walk to the Valley of the Rocks and visit many neighbouring small towns. All in all a delight to stay here for its quaint town and the scenery everywhere. Will definitely be returning

Room Tip: Choose a high floor at the rear of the hotel for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Lynton, and that you had “wonderful food”. We agree we are in the perfect location to enjoy the lovely walks in the surrounding area; the circular walk to the Valley of Rocks is a particular favourite with our guests. We are pleased that you will be returning, thank you for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent a three night break in Lynton, obviously once a beautiful hotel, lounge balconies must have been amazing ...victim probably to 'Health and Safety'. Kept clean and tidy, thanks to the staff but a huge redecoration is needed. The receptionists and waiting staff were delightful ..but limited bar opening and a wasted seating area in the garden meant we had to go out to find somewhere to sit during very hot and sunny afternoons.
Overall we had a lovely weekend, good value for price paid but Shearings need to invest in this little gem.

Room Tip: Worth paying the sea view room supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed a “lovely weekend” with us in Lynton.
Thank you for your kind comment regarding our “delightful receptionist and waiting staff”.
We are happy your holiday was good value and that the weather was sunny!
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A lovely victorian building with plenty of atmosphere.Pity the balconies have been boarded up but was obviously done for good reason, maybe when the lift was installed,yes it needs a little attention here and there and I did see a painter doing odd bits about the place but the rooms were clean and the food was very good.Well done Sheerings

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you John M, for leaving your feedback.
We agree the Valley of Rocks hotel is a lovely building; we are pleased you enjoyed the food and that your room was kept clean by our housekeeping team.
We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROMLEY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely old period hotel in the picturesque village of Lynton.
Speedy check in, excellent waiter service in restaurant and first class maid service.
Booked a superior room, which had a spectacular triple vista over the bay.
Large well furnished room, with huge bathroom, but for some reason, just a rather dull centre light.
The gardens are mature to say the least, but to be fair to the hotel, the law of the land does prevent them from chopping them down, but the pathway through to the road is perfectly clear.
Would love to have seen the gallery in its heyday, before health and safety ruled the world.
Has a nicely located terrace bar, which leads onto...................a single garden bench, no chairs tables, umbrellas, enclosed by sombre black railings.Seems to be a waste of a potential revenue stream as along with other guests we went elsewhere to sit out and have a drink on a warm summer evening. Would have no hesitation in returning, but on a self drive basis, as the 19 hour/6 stop return Sheariings coach journey was a serious endurance test.

Room Tip: Would Well worth paying the supplement for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are pleased that you had a speedy check in, excellent waiter service and first class maid service during your recent stay with us in Lynton. We agree the view from your room is spectacular.
We look forward to you visiting us again in the future, thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Spent a 3 night weekend self-drive Break at Lynton(Shearings Bay Hotels) The Valley of the Rocks was a very interesting old hotel. On arrival was checked in quickly by pleasant staff, our room was newly refurbished with a excellent sea view. However there was no shower in bathroom and found out on speaking to another guest that a shower attachment was available from reception which did not completly solve the problem but helped. Communal areas were clean and comfortable as was the dining room, although parts of the hotel needed attention, the manager did mention that maintenance was ongoing due to age of building. Food was reasonable,good choice at dinner and breakfast, service very good. Car Parking at the hotel is very limited.
On the whole we were very happy with our weekend the only downside was the entertainment
On both nights Guitarist/Singer, nothing on final night. This could be improved.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room at back with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor, we happy to hear that you that you were checked in quickly by our pleasant staff, that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable and that you had excellent service in our restaurant.
We have live evening entertainment on most evenings and try to offer a good variety.
We do have limited parking at the hotel, but we sell (from reception) four day parking permits for the council car park which is only a short walk away from the hotel.
We are pleased you were very happy with your weekend stay and look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.