We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Save
You added Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel to your Saves list
Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We had booked two nights and then read a bad review on trip advisor, and the weather forecast was for monsoon weather but we still nervously went.We were so surprised when our room was large, with modern décor and excellent large en suite bathroom. The hotel is under refurbishment but it is such a wonderful old building, it is great that Shearings took up the challenge! Even the weather was gloriously sunny. The choice and service of breakfast was excellent. We didn't have evening meal as there was so much to do and see in two days but intend to stay longer next time. The location is perfect for walking to the Valley of Rocks and to see all the goats, also coastal paths.

Room Tip: Room 49 superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a such a nice review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope the sun shines next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    111
    65
    46
    31
See reviews for
39
191
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
luton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and i have just returned from a stay at this hotel' The room was very nice and the food good,My only complaint was there wasnt anywhere for people to smoke under cover' It rained almost constant so as anyone who smokes will know it wasnt very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
We are really pleased you enjoyed the room and food at our hotel, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

I don't know where to start. Worst room EVER. Worst food EVER. Sorry but my room was like a timeless peoples hostel. I feel sorry for the people who work there. The food was about as bad as food gets. Are the vegetables boiled for 6 hrs before serving? Is under roasted vegetables covered in pasata a vegetarian option?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we do manage to please a large proportion of our guests and offer good value for money, we also have had a number of rooms refurbished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My sister in law & I have just returned from 4 days here>All staff, entertainment and food excellent, Guy our driver - out of this world- I bet you will miss him. room was clean and bed comfortable, obviously with a building this old parts need refurbishing, just don't look for them, they are being done but it takes time, it's a loveley old building with character. Just wondering if there is anywhere I can obtain a photo of the torch taken outside the hotel as we missed it by 10 mins on Monday, thanks again for a great stay. Top marks to Naomi our waitress while we were there. Mrs P Randell

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time, to post your lovely comments on tripadvisor, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay in Lynton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I had a very pleasant time while we were there the food was first class and the restaurant staff were very eficient and helpful the entertainment was very good
S Christie

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time, to post your nice comments on Tripadvisor.
We are really pleased you enjoyed the food and evening entertainment.
The restaurant staff were really pleased to read your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My wife and i visited the hotel with a open mind and were very pleased with it,we had room without asking with a view of the estuary and Wales across the channel.The room was good for the 4 nights we had it,from getting of the coach our luggage was looked after both in and out.all of the staff we met were very helpful and friendly.The holiday was good value with lots of walking from the hotel,or riding on the vernicular to Lynmouth.I enjoyed the meals and drinks with a talented guitarist and a lovely voiced lady singer/keyboard player to entertain us on the evening.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed the food & evening entertainment.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

recently stayed here and though it is the process of renovation had a good stay,staff were really good ,room quiet and comfortable and good food

Room Tip: upgrades are available for rooms but all are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your nice comments.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.