We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hewitts Villa Spaldi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hewitts Villa Spaldi
Save
You added Hewitts Villa Spaldi to your Saves list
North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Fairfield County CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

We arrived after a dreadful drive around 7:30 PM. Tito readily agreed to put something together for us to eat from what he had available in the kitchen and we had a fantastic meal in the bar. He is a fascinating educated man who took us on a tour of the garden which is set into the hillside and which he has restored with plants from all over. He and his wife have professional training in cooking; the first throw together meal was so wonderful we ordered dinner for the next night, and had another wonderful meal beginning with lobster obtained in the market that day. Breakfast was excellent.

We had room two, one of the better rooms, which faces the sea and the cliff to the right (on which the sun casts changing shadows and colors) has an alcove window, a small balcony and two windows that open for cross ventilation. The bed was great the bathroom modern, the decor rich if very "period". It's an old house-- there's no lift and you might need a space heater (provided) to warm up the room on a cold night. But you'll never forget your stay.

The house has to be seen to be believed--a real period piece and beautiful but no fawlty towers by a long shot. Grand staircase sprawling and well decorated public room, a patio facing the sea, a snug bar, many interesting collections to look at, and a glorious nineteenth century leaded glass portrait of Hewitt's wife at the top of the stairs.

The town of Lynton is charming, as is Lynmouth down below. The walks along the coastal paths are speactacular, the funicular ride is a hoot, and the surrounding countryside is gorgeous (go to Porlock Weir).Tito will advise you on everything you need to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Booked one of the apartments (Penthouse Suite with sea view and balcony) for a relaxing three night break. A pleasing space but the smell of musty damp was quite overpowering, especially in the small single bedroom. The friend with whom I was travelling retired to bed in this room but 15 minutes later knocked on my door to tell me that she was finding it difficult to breathe because of the damp. She moved to a sofa in the living room which proved not damp but thoroughly uncomfortable. When we spoke to the owners the following morning we were told 'no one has ever complained about damp before' - seem to recall that the 'no one has ever complained before' was one of Basil Fawlty's favourite responses. We were also told that we were free to find other accommodation! Things went downhill from there - we were offered other rooms but were more or less thrown into them i.e. there was no attempt to make us feel comfortable, show us how the remotely controlled lighting worked, the television nor were we believed when we said the kettle wasn't working (it was faulty and had to be replaced). Checking out was a nightmare with first the husband lecturing me - he said that he had spotted my friend as a 'professional complainer'; that they didn't want people like her in what was, according to him 'not an hotel but their private home' etc. He marched up and down as he lectured me and when I tried to interject told me not to interrupt. It was totally unbelievable but became worse - a bathrobe had been moved from the room I was in to another room and we were accused of having stolen it! The maid was sent running upstairs, twice I think to check all the wardrobes in both rooms. Finally when settling the bill I asked for a discount because of the damp in the Penthouse Suite and the fact that we had had to move. At this point the wife said that she had known from the first time she saw us that we would not want to pay! Extraordinary behaviour!
The hotel has some beautiful rooms - Room 5 in particular is delightful but even the marvellous four-poster bed and the amazing view are not worth putting up with such unpleasant treatment from those who apparently have a reputation as 'gracious and welcoming' hosts.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Wow. From the second my husband and I drove down the driveway towards the magnificent Villa Spaldi, we were totally taken aback by it's splendour. Once we walked through the door, the magnificence continued....

First of all, Villa Spaldi is incomparable in every way. The owners, Mr and Mrs Spaldi maintain it's exceptional uniqueness with a passion which is rare and is also contagious. We fell in love with it - and this was before we even got into our room!

We were in Room 5. A stunning four-poster bed and the most amazing view were ours. We felt like royalty. I cannot, for the life of me, think of any other place which has felt so wonderful and where we have felt so at ease so quickly. The ambience is incredibly relaxed and special. We couldn't stop smling! :)

On the first night we had booked an evening meal as we had read reviews about Tito Spaldi's cordon bleu chef skills. We certainly weren't disappointed! The 5 course meal was outstanding! Beautiful, succulent and tasty food. I think that if you decide to stay here (which you absolutely should), then to miss out on such amazing culiinary delights would be a real shame. You need to book it beforehand though, seeing as it is all freshly prepared. Breakfast was amazing too! Mrs Spaldi is such an approachable and friendly lady that you can't help but want to chat to her. She turned out fantastic breakfasts, cooked to order - and there was also a wonderful array of continental breakfast-style food laid out *so* beautifully. It was picture worthy in itself!

Lynton is great. The coastal path walks are stunning both for the landscape and the views. Villa Spaldi is right there in prime coastal path territory. It is also set in 27 acres of lush gardens, the maintainance of which is a feat in itself.

I can honestly say that we will *definitely* return to Villa Spaldi. Tito and his lovely wife are a joy to spend time in the company of. They are extremely interesting people, very cultured and intelligent. Their ability to make people feel comfortable and happy are admirable.

Just in case you couldn't tell, let me insist again: This place is *perfect*! We loved every second of it and were sad to leave. Fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

I checked this hotel on tripadvisor as I wanted somwhere special for our 25th anniversary and must say we weren't disappointed! The place grows on you from the moment you enter and the views from room 5 were simply spectacular. The gardens are also wonderful and Tito was kind enough to provide some cuttings for my wife (a keen gardener).Tito's wife must also take a lot of credit for the way the hotel has retained it's unique atmosphere and for taking the time to make this stay so special for us. A memorable stay and we're already planning our next visit

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for three days and had the most wonderful time. The standards delivered by the very friendly owners and staff are second to none. The rooms all have a stunning sea view and are very well appointed, with many extra little things that other hotels just don't offer from the fresh coffee maker to fluffy white robes, fresh fruit and flowers. Too many great things to mention but the fabulous food and overall ambience of this stunning place must be tried to be properly appreciated. We will be going back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

Took my wife here for St Valentine's Day. She had not been told where we were going & was suitably impressed. Wonderful cliff & sea views from our room - a stunning interior with a genuine & original Edwardian look to the place. Excellent service - Jose the waiter from Barcelona (not Manuel) deserves a special mention - & the welcome from the Italian owners was generous. Tito's meal in the evening was oustanding & no wonder he runs cordon bleu cookery courses. Breakfast was about the best we could remember. This is a hotel that is something our of the ordinary - they only take 3 couples at a time so you get a lot of attention. Not the cheapest hotel we have ever stayed in perhaps, but certainly one of the most interesting & pleasant, & excellent value for money. If you are looking for a special place for a special occasion, you won't do better than this.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Warrington, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

On arrival we were amazed by the view and welcomed by a hotel that at first looked slightly tired but actually was quiet the opposite it has so much history and character. We were shown to room 5 and a view to die for. We slept with the window and curtains opened so that we could hear the sea below and watch the amazing sunrise and how it changed the colour of the landscape every second.
Tito is a wonderful cook and his 5 course gourmet dinner is not to be missed. We were the only ones dining the night we stayed - it was so romantic and to have a chef cook just for you... fantastic!!! We kept on saying that everyone else staying there were missing out by not eating in.
Make sure you take the walk out to Valley of the Rocks which you get to by turning right at the entry way instead of going left up to Lynton. It took 30 mins and the views are wonderful especially in the afternoon. Would recommend to anyone heading over that way to add this to there list of places to stay!

  • Liked — The view and restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hewitts Villa Spaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitts Villa Spaldi

Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hewitts Hotel Lynton
Hewitts Villa Spaldi Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hewitts Villa Spaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.