We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts, ideal location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockvale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rockvale to your Saves list
Rockvale
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Hollerday Drive | Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, ideal location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend birthday break. The lovely owner had guests singing happy birthday to me as we came in for our scrummy breakfasts. Bed was very comfortable and en suite bathroom nice and clean. Superb sea views and walking location to everywhere in Lynton, including coastal paths.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
67
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
TIPTON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stopped for one night to extend our break and we were so glad we did.
We had a warm welcome and were shown to a lovely bright clean room overlooking the town, (room 6).
Not wanting to spend time looking for a place to eat we booked an evening meal £15 each for two courses, what a meal, I had steak and ale pie with 4 veg and Lynne had salmon in fresh herb sauce, then a coffee in the lounge, both were first class, proper home cooking at its best.
After a great nights sleep in a comfy bed we were looking forward to breakfast after such a nice evening meal and again, it was superb, I had smoked bacon fresh toms beans mushrooms egg sausage fried bread and toast to follow, but there was a long list of other options, we hardly ate anything else during the day, it was a perfect breakfast.
Would we stay here again, oh yes, close to the town, 5mins from the cliff railway, private parking, an ideal location.

Room Tip: Book an evening meal, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

we could only stay one night(sadly!).this hotel is spotless and seems to have been completely renovated wherever you look! Smashing breakfast, not greasy and very varied menu. Very friendly owners who make you feel very welcome. we will certainly be re-booking if we return to Lynton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Rockvale B&B is in Lynton, right next to the tourist information.
We had a room with a beautifull view of Lynton, the hill and the sea.
An ideal place for walks in Exmore, or just around the corner the waterdriven "railway" to Lynmouth and the coastal path to Valley of Rocks.
The B&B has good clean rooms with good beds and bathroom.
the breakfast is very good thanks to the care of the nice ladies running the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We turned up on spec at the end of a day exploring Exmoor. To be honest, anywhere would have done but the Rockmoor turned out to be a happy choice. The room was quite spotlessly clean with a fine view over the valley and with everything you could need: good bathroom, excellent welcome tray, comfortable beds, tv and automatic connection to free wifi.
Heather gave us plenty of helpful - and accurate - information about where to eat in the evening and the breakfast the next morning was fine. It's a surprisingly spacious house, the welcome was unfailingly friendly and we look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a fantastic time and were made to feel extremely welcome as soon as we arrived. Would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for excellent, friendly service. Tucked away from the main throng, yet only 3 minutes walk from all local amenities. Great breakfast, friendly atmosphere and cleaner than our own home!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the rockvale may bank holiday with my wife and daughter and the fact that I've never wrote a review before is compliment enough for this lovely positioned hotel. Run by two sisters from the fantastic breakfasts to a optional evening meal and well stocked bar could not find fault with anything.Thankyou for a memorable six night stay see you next time we are in Lynton.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockvale

Address: Hollerday Drive | Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockvale 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockvale, the ideal base for your Exmoor adventure. Situated in the picturesque village of Lynton, close to the North Devon coast and with easy access to the stunning countryside of the Exmoor National Park.We have seven bedrooms, a comfortable guest lounge and licenced bar, our breakfast menu offers the widest range in the area.There is free parking and excellent views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rockvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockvale Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockvale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.