We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockvale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rockvale to your Saves list
Rockvale
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Hollerday Drive | Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“March 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We have stayed at Rockvale for short breaks over a number of years and our experience has always been excellent. On arrival we received a warm welcome with tea and cakes, a lovely gesture after a long journey. Our room was spotless and very comfortable with views across Lynton. The breakfast and evening meal menus had a selection of delicious home cooked food which were readily adapted to suit our individual needs. Rockvale has parking, overlooks the village and is surrounded by beautiful countryside for walking. Alwyn and Heather make Rockvale an ideal place to stay for a quiet break with their enthusiasm and friendly manner.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
64
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Verrieres-le-Buisson, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We had an overnight at Rockvale and do not find anything other than "charming place, very nice people, delicious food (we had also asked for some vegetarian food).
The rooms are quiet, the beds very comfortable.
The area is worth several visits, and this hotel in particullar really a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at Rockvale over Christmas and it was wonderful. Alwyn and Heather went to great lengths to make our stay wonderful. The room we had overlooked Lynton and the food was splendid home made cooking. It was a wonderful stress free Christmas. Rockvale is close to the village and within easy walking reach of lovely walks.

We had a great time and hopefully will be returning soon. Tricia and Chris

Tri

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We had a brilliant Xmas.Food was superb, varied and very plentiful. Bedroom and all communal rooms extremely clean,well decorated and very comfortable.Our two hosts went out of their way to ensure that all present had a great time, with many extras and lots of fun. Would highly recommend Rockvale to anyone visiting this area.

Kay and Trev

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

just returned from axmas break at rockvale hotel lovely food superb accomadation lovely hosts very friendly made us feel at home would visit again without hesitation very good value for price

Room Tip: room 6 view over lynton
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We simply echo the findings of the very satisfied other guests who have written reviews which are that the establishment that Alwyn and Heather operate cannot be faulted. Each of the rooms had a theme to it which we found very novel, the food, cleanliness, parking, service and general willingness to help was very refreshing after previously experiencing some very poor accommodation elsewhere in our UK travels.

We would return to this guesthouse whenever we were out that way and would highly recommend the establishment to anyone looking for excellence and value for money.

Room Tip: We selected a room that had sailing items in it and we were very happy with that one and the volumin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We visited Lynton (and Lynmouth) in late October 2011. We were a group of 17 people and each and everyone of us greatly enjoyed our stay at Rockvale. The accommodation was lovely and so was the breakfast and dinner. The views from the bedrooms were breathtaking and the hotel location was fabulous since its almost next to the Cliff-Railway, Lynton Cinema and the Valley of Rocks coastal walk which we all enjoyed thoroughly. We would highly recommend this family friendly hotel to anyone interested to explore Devon.

Room Tip: Room 2 had a balcony with superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockvale

Address: Hollerday Drive | Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockvale 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockvale, the ideal base for your Exmoor adventure. Situated in the picturesque village of Lynton, close to the North Devon coast and with easy access to the stunning countryside of the Exmoor National Park.We have seven bedrooms, a comfortable guest lounge and licenced bar, our breakfast menu offers the widest range in the area.There is free parking and excellent views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rockvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockvale Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockvale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.