We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Muddy Boots” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Hotel

The Crown Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Crown Hotel to your Saves list
The Crown Hotel
Market Street, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
LOndon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good for Muddy Boots”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed one night while on the North Coastal Path trek with 6 other friends. It is convenient to the path, clean, welcoming and the bar was filled with rustic locals, some of whom may well be benefit refugees from London.Decided to eat elsewhere in town, but had an excellent cooked breakfast the following morning. Despite some reservations about how noisy it might be at night, proved the rooms were far enough away from the bar to be quiet. Room was comfortable, a bit spartan, but everything worked and was clean. If you don't ask for much, you wont be disappointed. but this is not the spot for a romantic weekend, but good for muddy boots.

Room Tip: not over the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    33
    5
    4
    11
See reviews for
17
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrivenham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Second time myself and family have stayed at the crown first time being in February.
Its a great place to stay with a very friendly welcome, the pub, rooms and bar staff are full of character the food is proper pub grub and the Hotel is centrally located in Lynton making it ideal for walkers, will i stay again? yes without a doubt, down to earth good value friendly hotels with a child friendly pub are hard to find.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've avoided reviewing the Crown in the past, because I would have been rating the landlord and not the pub: I basically avoided this place for a couple of years having been several times and not received the friendliest welcome, shall we say (read old reviews if you need detaisl!!)... However, the new "owners" have really improved the place. We had a meal for the first time for at least two years, it was perfectly good pub grub. Tribute beer is always good, and barman Joey is an absolute gem (don't get your head turned by reading this stuff, Joey! Just go on being yourself!). A huge improvement, and thank the Lord, because the murals, and the fact that this is a real pub, are a must on a visit to Lynton. Excellent two-person group on the Saturday, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed only for one night but had a great stay.The location is picturesque. The hotel lies in the village centre.A great band played in the bar.The room was spacious enough and quiet. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chippenham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Twin Room was big with lots of room and recently redecorated ... bed a little hard for my liking but then I realise you cant please everybody there.

Room also clean and tidy, only problem I found with the room was the noise in the street late at night ... but I am a light sleeper.

Breakfast was good, Evening food was also good although a little limited, most things served with chips.

Parking was good ... once you suss out how to get there :-)

Overall I would use again if I didnt have a room that fronted onto the street.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out on the Street are noisy at the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very good value. Family run and very caring. Family room double bunk for kids and main room with a double. A bit dated but very comfortable despite the ensuite down a steep step in a corner. Pub and pub food very good. Owners there since August and are starting to do up the bedrooms, the price reflects this. Breakfast is continental except at weekends.Owners could not have been more helpful. Would go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Frequented this Hotel on a number of evenings whilst staying a week in Lynton.

Very friendly welcome from staff and locals, great bar to side with real ales, bit dated but very characterful, and a log burner.

Good selection of bar meals at reasonable prices, food was very good and side salad accompanying the scampi was excellent and well presented.

Would definitely visit again and if staying at Lynton would consider this location as my first option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Market Street, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has 12 comfortably furnished rooms, all with en-suite facilities. Continental and full English breakfast is included in our room rates. Our bar holds a wide range of local real ales. A wide range of food is available from bar snacks through to restaurant meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.