We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse Restaurant

The Greenhouse Restaurant
6 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HW, England
+44 1598 752101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful (non UK naturally) and the food was excellent. Great value for money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    58
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and excellent service. The chicken wrapped in bacon with wilted spinach was cooked to perfection.

The cherry crumble and the white chocolate cake for desserts were delightful.

Could not fault the service, very friendly and helpful. Catered for families with ease.

Priced competitively and a good cider (Thatchers) on draught as well.

Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Window seat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

On a busy Friday evening in Lynton we came across this delightful restaurant with a greenhouse type structure sitting as a projection into the wide footway. We were allocated a room in the window which gave us a good view of the happenings in the town. Waitresses were plentiful and cheerful and more than happy to help with meal choices. We both had very tasty chicken/bacon/cheese type meals followed by naughty desserts - just what we were looking for on a disappointingly cool evening.

We would recommend to others and advise booking as it is very popular.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Another reviewer summed up my feelings very well: "some of the other meals however that were going out did look pretty good but I was left wishing I had ordered something else or gone elsewhere."
We had pleasant meals last Wednesday evening and returned last Thursday but I wished we hadn't as the selection of vegetables offered was a very strange combination with duck -- which wasn't that good anyway. When this was mentioned to the waitress, no effort was made to please us. It was interesting that this meal turned out to be the least enjoyable of our week's stay in Lynton and the most expensive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

good food resonablely priced,very friendly and helpful staff.pleasant surroundings.A really nice place to eat.a good location

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greenhouse Restaurant also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Greenhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.