We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vanilla Pod

The Vanilla Pod
10 Queen Street | ex356aa, Lynton, Exmoor National Park, England
01598753706
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Lynton
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We serve exciting modern food from around the world. We like to taste our customers taste buds with unusual flavor combinations. We love catering for vegetarians and vegans. We can also happy to cater for people with gluten and lactose intolerance.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Food was very good with a nice varied choice on the menu. The decor and ambiance leaves something to be desired.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    79
    24
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Yummy!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

So many nice things on the menu it was difficult to choose just one so we all went for a different choice just to sample more - mmmmm! Not on the main street so seek it out and have a lovely meal and evening - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, made to feel very welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

it first night in Lynton and we came to the Vanilla Pod. Excellent prawns and sardines for starter, and the Sea Bass main course was delicious. The Mussel portion was a little small for a hungry husband, but it came with plenty of bread. The scaffolding which is currently up did not ruin the experience, but there was slightly odd and rather loud music playing. The service was good, and it was reasonable value too. I would definitely recommend coming here, as the food really was superb.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A very good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We visited very early in the season so the restaurant was quiet.The owner looked after us very well and our meals were excellent.this restaurant will get very popular so booking is advisable

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Vanilla Pod is a small, charming but unpretentious restaurant in the seaside town of Lynton. Went there one wet evening and had a really first class meal. Excellently varied menu, good service, pleasant surroundings. We were amazed by the standard of the cooking. Definitely 5 Star.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vanilla Pod also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Vanilla Pod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vanilla Pod, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.