We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Owner” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Captain's House Afternoon Tea

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Captain's House Afternoon Tea
1 Tors Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ET, England
+44 (0)1598 753369
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 20 Restaurants in Lynmouth
Restaurant details
nz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude Owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I have never reviewed before but I felt the need to for this place. The owner was rude, unfriendly, condescending and extremely unwelcoming. We were pressurised into ordering as fast as possible and the moment the food was almost thrown onto the table with distain, he asked us for the money straight away .. we were is disbelief! We had to laugh because it was so unbelievable for such a lovely location. We were told to use public toilets over the bridge or his b and b. Upon choosing his b and b it was clear we had selected the wrong option. Food was less than adequate and for £6 for a very basic cheese on toast (cleverly disguised on menu as a very fancy welsh rarebit) we wish we had eaten somewhere else. Upon asking if the mint for the tea was grown in his garden he sniggered with an of course not its imported. The moment he had our money he shut the door and we never saw him again. Do not eat here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    0
    0
    3
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“disgraceful and disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My family and I had afternoon tea. It was such a horrid experience it almost defies words. The sandwiches were made with the cheapest, thinest white bread imaginable, content 'plastic' cheese and ham, the butter was RANCID and made my Granddaughter ill. Two cream teas had one small pot cream, when we enquired we were told this is all you got! Two pieces of chocolate cake were stale! For this privilege we paid £30! demanded from us before we ate ( I wonder why!!) One teaspoon between all if us, NO napkins, the Service was SO bad it was almost a farce. The man was at best disinterested but at worst very rude. When we asked to use the Ladies we were barred from going inside the Establishment and directed to the Public loos in the Carpark!!! I could go on and on.,but you get the picture DONT go here!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Should have checked Tripadvisor first. Really, don't be tempted to eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

As the other people have said, lovely location, horrible tea. Four of us had lunch/tea here and it was a real disappointment. My husband's sandwich was awful and served with a cut tomato that had evidently been sliced the day before, the jam tasted gone-off (alcoholish), the milk was long life and all the food was very cheap quality. Our experience was the same as all the other reviewers regarding the hospitality

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“what a waste of a lovely spot for a tea garden...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

what a lovely place lynmouth is - amazing location. A friend and i drove from
Taunton to spend monday afternoon walking to the Valley of the Rocks and back.
A beautiful walk, stunning natural beauty, sunshine, blue sky - perfect spring
day. Having done our walk and heading back to the car pleasantly tired and in
need of a cuppa, we happened upon The Captain's House tea garden which looked
rather inviting and pretty in it's riverbank situation. We plumped for tea and
cake; no chance of seeing the cake, we were just told 'lemon drizzle or coffee
and walnut'. We had a slice of each and a pot of tea for two. The cups were the
sort you would find in a (bad) greasy spoon cafe, the stainless steel pot,
although big, was grubby, VERY dribblesome and we had trouble believing that
the water had been boiling at the time it was poured onto the tea bags. As for
the cake..... i am not a connoisseur but i know a lemon drizzle when i see one.
This was just a sponge sandwhich with lemon icing on the top and in the middle
and SOOOooooo dry. The coffee and walnut could not be described as sponge, it
was very dense.My friend asked to use a loo.....and was abruptly directed to the public
conveniences on the other side of the river "which we maintain" - really? did
he just mean that he pays his taxes?? At no point did the proprietor (once he
had plonked our tea and cake on the table) come by to ask if all was well...
just took our £11.00 and hid in the house. oh, did i say, the 'cake' was £3.50
per slice - THREE POUNDS AND FIFTY PENCE for a slice of cake. Should have gone
back to the place we had lunch where service was admirable, tea was hot and
huge slice of fresh carrot cake was only £2.30!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“what a waste of a lovely spot for a tea garden...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

what a lovely place lynmouth is - amazing location. A friend and i drove from Taunton to spend monday afternoon walking to the Valley of the Rocks and back. A beautiful walk, stunning natural beauty, sunshine, blue sky - perfect spring day.
Having done our walk and heading back to the car pleasantly tired and in need of a cuppa, we happened upon The Captain's House tea garden which looked rather inviting and pretty in it's riverbank situation. We plumped for tea and cake; no chance of seeing the cake, we were just told 'lemon drizzle or coffee and walnut'. We had a slice of each and a pot of tea for two.
The cups were the sort you would find in a (bad) greasy spoon cafe, the stainless steel pot,
although big, was grubby, VERY dribblesome and we had trouble believing that the water had been boiling at the time it was poured onto the tea bags. As for the cake..... i am not a connoisseur but i know a lemon drizzle when i see one. This was just a sponge sandwhich with lemon icing on the top and in the middle and SOOOooooo dry. The coffee and walnut could not be described as sponge, it was very dense.
My friend asked to use a loo.....and was abruptly directed to the public conveniences on the other side of the river "which we maintain" - really? did he just mean that he pays his taxes?? At no point did the proprietor (once he had plonked our tea and cake on the table) come by to ask if all was well... just took our £11.00 and hid in the house. oh, did i say, the 'cake' was £3.50 per slice - THREE POUNDS AND FIFTY PENCE for a slice of cake. I know....caveat emptor and all that but i believed that the rather high price would somehow be warranted...wrong. Should have gone back to the place we had lunch where service was admirable, tea was hot and huge slice of fresh carrot cake was only £2.30!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Captain's House Afternoon Tea also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Captain's House Afternoon Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Captain's House Afternoon Tea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.