We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tors Hotel

Tors Hotel
Tors Park, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
(0)1598 753 236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 20 Restaurants in Lynmouth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We ate here as we were staying in the hotel but were not disappointed. The meal comprised of 4 courses all of which were beautifully presented and tasted great, Fine dining quality at a good price.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great sun deck, views & gin cocktails - food good, place odd but interesting...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Decent enough meal and loved the views for pre-dinner drinks with Martin Miller Gin. A lot of interesting junk in the hotel and restaurant a bit old school with service too match - but sort of all fitted together really. Memorable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“English Eccentricity at its Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We did not stay, but had to visit the place since close friends of ours insisted that we should see it. So we went, in what we thought would be the vain hope hope that we might get a luncheon 'snack' on the wonderful terrace which overlooks the village of Lynmouth. Others were lunching in the restaurant and we were the only ones wishing to sit out and have a sandwich. We were received graciously and had our requests met in the most courteous and efficient manner - the service was attentive and friendly. We thought that our server was probably a member of the management team, and he was only too willing to share with us the 'story' behind the extraordinary and wonderful contents, from whence the title of this Review is derived, of the building. For all that information go to their website and learn about Millers Hotels (the proprietor is he of Millers Antique Guides).. Our experience told us that our next visit to Lynton and Lynmouth will include a stay at the Tors (especially if the management decides after all to keep the swimming pool!).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Go go go go go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I've already given a glowing report on Tors but I feel I have to add a shorty... This really is a gem. We can't wait to go back in the spring proper to enjoy the magnificent terrace with stunning view...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“worth a visit for the uniqueness of it all.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visited the Torrs in 2009 and again this month and couldnt believe the transformation. The downstairs is full of antiques in every corner. The library room is just crying out for you to sit down and read, unwinding from the stresses of life. We only had a cream team there and it was only average as it was clear the scones were defrosted from frozen for our order and they were not freshly baked. It is still worth a visit just to see the Miller antique collection.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tors Hotel also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tors Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.