We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rock House Hotel to your Saves list
Rock House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manor Green, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Southend on Sea
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Lovely garden. Nice food. Dog friendly and entertaining seagulls. Always make time to try this place you won't be disappointed . Probably best in lynmouth. Not stayed so can't comment on rooms but certainly would give it a try.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    34
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
96
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Although we didnt stay here, myself and my girlfriend really enjoyed the tea and scones we had here one afternoon in June. We were visiting Lynmouth for a day out and the village is beautiful, a gem in Devon for sure!

We had scones with clotted cream and jam, and a couple of teas. The food was lovely and the scenery from around the tea gardens was superb. If you are in Lynmouth, come here for a bite to eat or your dinner :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

The staff were very helpful, especially one barman who was quite entertaining. The food was good but the best thing about the rock house is it's location - simply stunning to watch the tide come in from our bedroom window in the morning. Definitely worth a visit ;-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in the single room and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was bijou, but well appointed, clean and with a good view over the seashore. The breakfasts were generous and well cooked. The dinners were above average and well presented. The wine list was very reasonable and they sell real ale too. The staff were friendly and helpful. The weather was mixed, but there's lots to do in the area and the Rising Sun made a pleasant spot to watch the world go by with a pint of real ale.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view for the sunsets and sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Recommend the cream tea which we had sat outside in the rain (our choice!) The scones were light and fresh.. Generous portions of cream and jam
and decent cup of tea... We were invited to shout for more tea jam or cream if needed... Nice touch...
Jam could have been better quality... But all in all a good experience.
Thatch needs refurbishment... Had a look inside .... All seemed clean and welcoming... Would recommend for what it is....

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel was in a great location as I was walking the South West Coast Path and the Path goes right past the front door. The room was a very .good size and very clean with windows all around. The view from the room was excellent. We had an evening meal which was excellent and the service was great

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We paid for a superior room to enable us to get a view over the harbour and out to sea, which was spectacular. The room was tastefully furnished, spotless and comfortable. We did, however, have a bit of a disaster shortly after our arrival. On opening the main window we could not keep it open due to broken sash cords. In our excitement to take photographs of the harbour we tried to prop the window open with what we took to be a bottle on the window ledge. It turned out to be a vase which fell out of the window and crashed on the rocks. Being the honest people that we are we owned up and were charged for the broken vase which would not have happened if the sash cords had not been broken. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, especially Lucy who greeted us on arrival and at breakfast with a cheery smile, which made up for poor weather. Breakfast was ok but the bacon looked a bit sad and tasted rubbery. We only stayed one night so didn't perhaps have a chance to give the hotel a fair crack of the whip, but generally we enjoyed our short time there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House Hotel

Address: Manor Green, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Lynmouth
Rock House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.