We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rock House Hotel to your Saves list
Rock House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manor Green, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Celebrated my husbands birthday with a few days in Lynmouth. This was our first visit to the Rock House Hotel and will visit again in the near future.

Very friendly management and staff at this small hotel, surrounded by sea.

Very good food, including breakfast

Nice clean rooms

Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    34
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
96
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cannot compliment this hotel enough. To start with the location is magical with wonderful up-close views of the river, the Harbour and the sea. Our room was spotless and furnished with both style and comfort. We even had the sound of the river flowing past our window. All the staff were friendly and informative about the area. The breakfasts are excellent - try the lovely smoked salmon and poached eggs as well as the gorgeous full english. The dinner menu is a bit limited, but enjoyable none the less. We throughly enjoyed our stay and will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just had a wonderful break at the Rock Hotel. From arrival to departure we were made extremely welome. The friendly and attentive staff made our stay especially memorable.
The restuarant served very good food at a reasonable price, even though the menu was limited there was something for everyone. The breakfasts were of exceptional quality both in the ingredients and the cooking ( we have not had better in hotels charging twice as much ).
Our room had wonderful views onto the town and harbour,it was very well appointed,spotlessly clean and the decor in excellent condition even though it was the very end of the season.
This was a very good value hotel and I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

What can I say? I just love this place!!!!!

Great location!

Spotlessly clean!

Lovely rooms!

Great food!

Lovely staff!


A must visit!!!!!!

I always visited lynmouth as a child with my family, and this hotel has always been a favourite. I would say it had one of the best locations in lynmouth. I really did reminisce while I was here. Would choose this hotel if I went back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

First stay in Lynmouth and it was a fantastic experience. Hotel was very clean, warm, extremely comfortable and value for money.

The staff seem genuinely concerned that guests are happy.

Food was delicious and bedroom spacious.

Room Tip: Room 2 looked out over the quay - stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Isn't it great when you are offered a room and are able to bring your pet with you! Our Lhasa Apso Maizi loved this place! As did my wife.There is one room available for pets, it faces the river and the harbour, and is on the ground floor. If you love the sound of rushing water then this is ideal, the sound is superb! I agree that the coffee is great too. We were made to feel welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room was clean, comfortable and warm. In general Lynmouth welcomes dog owners, many pubs and hotels have a relaxed attitude to pets... I wish other places would take note.
Food was OK and we had no complaints... the staff were very helpful and friendly...all in all a great place for a break, well done!

Room Tip: If you are disturbed by the sound of water go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

my husband treated me to a birthday weekend at this wonderful hotel. we arrived to a friendly welcome and were taken to our fantastic room with a view of the river and sea. we enjoyed sleeping to the sound of the river. the food and service were amazing and we always felt looked after and relaxed. Thank you for a fabulous weekend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House Hotel

Address: Manor Green, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Lynmouth
Rock House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.