We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My birthday, and our third stay at The Rock House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rock House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rock House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manor Green, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Lynmouth
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“My birthday, and our third stay at The Rock House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This was our third stay at The Rock House, and it has never failed to provide a magical weekend. The owners are an extremely friendly and welcoming couple, and the staff echo this as well. The fact that they all passed on birthday wishes to me, was so appreciated. We stayed in Room 1, a pretty room with a four poster bed overlooking the harbour. The owners are updating the hotel, and since our last visit have introduced a flat screen television to the bedroom as well as clock radio with an I-Pod docking station. They also provide a DVD library for those days when the British weather works against you. The bathroom could do with a bit of a revamp, but I know that the owners have a renovation programme in place, so am sure that this is on the list. All the work they are doing, is being done with consideration for a beautiful building.
We ate in the restaurant on our first night, and the quality of the food and service was very high. The breakfasts were substantial and tasty and set us up well for our walks in the area, and the hotel is very well sited for access to The Valley of the Rocks and surrounding area. Being sited away from the main road, shields the bedrooms from what is a busy tourist site.
We have returned home relaxed, happy and know that we will return here for a fourth weekend away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    30
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
88
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

only spent 1 night but wished we could have stayed longer , only booked in at last minute when we were passing and lucky to get a great room with a veiw of the harbour , great breakfast and dinner -- make sure you book the restaurant and ask for a table by the window (there is only 2 ) food was to die for and service excellent- loved it!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We love this hotel. It's beautiful, warm and cosy, staff lovely, bar well-stocked and welcoming, the views amazing and the food plentiful and great quality. The first experience we had of this hotel was a cold rainy November but we still loved it! Can't wait to be back this autumn!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Located directly on the sea front, in the centre of Lynmouth, this hotel is in a pretty setting. A small independent hotel with great staff, lovely rooms and good food. Very relaxing. Fantastic location to explore Exmoor national park.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and booked the Four poster. The hotel has a long history and has original features. This makes it a special place to stay. Also it is located at the river mouth and harbor, a perfect spot in the village of Lynmouth. The view from the room was beautiful. The room was on the small side. The bathroom was dated and somehow the floor in the bathroom became quite hot, possibly because the room is located above the kitchen. What is good is that this hotel has free private parking spaces on site. The breakfast menu stated smoked fish was served but when I got it it was fried and greasy, not smoked and I had to sent it back unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Location superb, food superb, staff superb, rooms 1 and 2 noise from the breakers take a little getting used to, but that is why we chose the location. Will definately return. Especially for the 3 for 2 promotion October until April, although getting there in icy condtions might pose a problem, Lnynmouth is not called little Switzerland without reason.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Lovely place, room over looking the harbour and sea but I was disappointed that there wasn't anything in the room to acknowledge that we were on honeymoon, flowers, wine, chocs,anything small just to make it feel special. Things like that go along way to getting people to go again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House Hotel

Address: Manor Green, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock House Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Lynmouth
Rock House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.