We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, first class servive, wonderful breakfast, nothing negative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelley's

Save Saved
You added Shelley's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shelley's
8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Lynmouth
Stafford, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very friendly, first class servive, wonderful breakfast, nothing negative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

Met by the owner on arrival, shown to room and offered an upgrade at no cost, complimentory tea and coffee and biscuits brought to room. Lovely bay window with view of river and sea. Room had a lot of little extra touches.First class breakfast with good range of food served in conservatory with sea view. Staff very flexible and helpful, quiet location. No faults just first class service, will recommend to friends and stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    30
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
347
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Overlooking the bay and harbour in Lynmouth, at the foot of the Glen Lyn Gorge, this hotel is ideally situated to take advantage of everything the area has to offer. Across the road is the start of a walk in the Watersmeet Valley, following the river as it tumbles through mossy glades and sun dappled woods. The area is riddled with stunning coastal walks and scenic footpaths, and there are breathtaking views at every turn in the road.
The hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard, with comfortable beds, lashings of hot water in the shower, and expensive soft furnishings, but the atmosphere is relaxed and informal. There is an extremely comfortable lounge and a cosy bar area, and if all you feel like doing is relaxing with a book and a glass of wine, it's there for you. The owner managers are charming and endlessly helpful to their guests, and all in all it would be difficult to find any fault with Shelleys. In fact, the only thing we didn't like was P B Shelley's poetry.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

Shelley’s is a wonderful small hotel, very comfortable and very smartly decorated with a touch of something special, a lovely looking hotel in the heart of Lynmouth overlooking the bay.

The hotel rooms are delightful, comfortable kingsize beds, sea views and some have delightful private conservatories.
Breakfast was a real treat in itself, a wide choice all freshly cooked to order, no having to pre-order the night before.

The Exmoor coastline is stunning, it stirs the imagination, the contour of the dramatic cliffs, deep wooded valleys with tumbling streams and empty moors all make for a wonderful for a relaxing break.

We would recommend booking Shelley's Exmoor Breaks offer which was very good value for money.

So if you want to treat yourself, like previous reviewers Shelley’s gets my vote, it has to be the best in Lynton & Lynmouth.

  • Liked — Quality accommodation at a reasonable price
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunton.uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

We have recently returned from a shorter than we would have liked break at Shelleys Hotel in Lynmouth.
From the moment we stepped into this beautiful historic hotel we
were made very welcome by the owners Richard and Jane.
The hotel has an elegance which is missing from a lot of hotels today.
The bedrooms are tastefully furnished, immaculately kept and have wonderful views over Lynmouth bay from the sea view bedrooms.
We've stayed in many hotels over the years, both in the Uk and abroad and can honestly say Shelleys hotel is one of the best we've stayed in.
The hotel has everything you could possibly need to have an enjoyable and restful stay.
The beautiful dining room is very light and spacious, it also has a conservatory attached to it, where you can breakfast while taking in wonderful views.
The breakfast menu is extensive, cooked to order and to perfection .
We thoroughly recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled egg, it will set you up for the day!
We only wish we could have stayed longer on our recent visit to Shelleys but it's definitely top of our list of hotels to visit in 2009!
We only wish it was open all year round!
Best wishes to Jane and Richard
From Val and Stewart - Taunton.

  • Liked — The ambience of the hotel and the welcoming hosts.
  • Disliked — There is nothing to dislike about the hotel.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

As others have said,immaculate condition,very clean and a nice breakfast .
The owners were friendly and seemed to enjoy what they did.
The "Shelley" connection was a bit tiresome.The place was almost a shrine to him.Apparently he stayed there on his honeymoon about 200 years ago.The marriage lasted a couple of years.Bit of a tenuous link.
An "okay" experience.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on Wye
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

As recently retired guest house owners we are, perhaps, a little more critical than most people. However, we could find no fault with Shelley's. It has been lovingly restored with great attention to detail. The bedrooms / reception rooms are spacious , extremely clean and very well furnished. The breakfast is superb! All this would be nothing without the right ambience and again Richard and Jane have got this bang on with the right mix of kind and friendly service. Add in a fantastic location with wonderful sea views & what more can you ask for?

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Could overhear conversations in bedroom next door.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

We stayed at Shelley’s in August for 3 nights as part of our 2 week touring holiday driving around the Devon & Cornwall, it was fabulous.

Shelley’s has to be one of the best locations in Lynmouth with it’s superb sea views from the breakfast room and nearly all of the bedrooms, the view across Lynmouth Bay from our conservatory balcony room was really lovely.

Shelley’s is decorated to a very high standard indeed, spotlessly clean, well presented and very tastefully furnished throughout.

Our hosts Jane & Richard made us feel very welcome, were very knowledgeable of the area, and gave us good advice on where to dine.

The freshly cooked to order breakfasts are just wonderful with a great choice of quality produce from a really excellent full breakfast to scrambled egg with smoked salmon, the kedgeree was my favourite but you really have to try them all.

For a relaxing, peaceful, perfect holiday break, then Lynmouth is the place to go to get away from it all and enjoy the absolutely magnificent coast and countryside of Exmoor National Park.

Overall we wish we had stayed longer but we will definitely return for a longer stay and after a fortnight on the road around the South West this was by far the best hotel; altogether a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelley's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.