We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A walking break in Lynmouth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shelley's to your Saves list
Shelley's
8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A walking break in Lynmouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We enjoyed everything at Shelley’s from the charming room with its splendid view of the harbour and sea, to the delicious breakfasts (whose menu provided verses from the eponymous poet), and of course to the wonderful walking country all around. We certainly recommend this perfectly positioned, friendly, and welcoming hotel most strongly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    35
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
408
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

'This was our first stay at Shelley's, although we have visited Lynton and Lynmouth on numerous occasions over the years. We found the hotel very comfortable and relaxing.

There were a couple of chilly days and it was useful to be able to adjust the radiators in our room to a comfortable temperature.

Breakfast, which was beautifully cooked with plenty of choices, was served in a room with conservatory overlooking Lynmouth harbour.

On the one evening we travelled out of Lynmouth to eat; the honesty bar at Shelley's was much appreciated by the driver!

We noticed that Shelleys attracts a wide age range of clientele, many of whom had returned time and again.

We will certainly be back ourselves! '

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My partner and I stayed here last weekend and had a very pleasant stay. A nice first floor room with an unusual conservatory style seating area and comfy bed. Also a good breakfast and pleasant hosts. No bath which was a shame as we both like a wallow after a few miles on Exmoor, but really do recommend Shelly's. Also - try the Bistro across the road for dinner, really excellent fish based cooking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands,UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

'Ideal position with central location, quiet, comfortable rooms and friendly owners. The breakfast was part buffet with the full English made to order.
Ate at the Rising Sun and Vanilla Pod which were both very good. We were given good information about walks so all in all a very enjoyable stay.'
We and another couple that were with us have previously stayed at the Seawood Hotel in Lynton, we passed through the property whilst walking and were hurled a load of abuse by the owner so we wont stay there again now we have found Shelleys.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Juliet balcony room which was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel Location is Excellent, we had a most pleasing room with incredible two aspect views. The service was first class with a breakfast menu to die for!
To top it further the three day package price is a steal!

Room Tip: Our room with a two aspect view was super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have regularly returned to shelleys for a short break for the last 6 years. A high standard of cleanliness has been maintained with superb flexible breakfast for all tastes and if you have 'Hollow legs' Jane's full english breakfast will set you up for the day! We always feel relaxed in the hotel and love it's location. We look forward to revisiting in the future.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms light and warm with sea views and quieter as set back further from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shelley's from 14th to 16th September 2012 for his birthday. The hosts were very welcoming and the room was very comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was superb and the honesty bar was a lovely idea and much appreciated! The only slight criticism was that the TV was very small for the size of room, but apart from that, everything was excellent...thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelley's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.