We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

3- 4 Beds house, Exmoor National Parks river views

Saved Save
You added 3- 4 Beds house, Exmoor National Parks river views to your Saves list.
Clovelly House Lynmouth
Clovelly House Lynmouth
Clovelly House Lynmouth
very spacious Kitchen dinner with 2 sofas
snug open fire in winter months
Balcony bedroom
River Lyn runs outside house this is view within 5 mins of house
Lynmouth
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ruokmb
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We travelled to Lynmouth with our two children (2 & 4) and their grandparents. We managed the trip without a car, which probably isn't recommended, but is do-able. We absolutely loved Lynmouth and the Clovelly house! The owner is absolutely lovely and was extremely helpful in answering all of our queries (including how to get around without a car). The house was well stocked with anything we needed and was perfect for us! If you do travel with small children, be aware that there are stairs in the property. They're carpeted, so not dangerous, but something to watch out for if your kids aren't used to them. Also, I'd recommend bringing a baby monitor for after you put the kids to bed.

The property is located within easy walking distance of several restaurants, pubs, and hiking trails. One thing the owner will recommend (and you should take her up on) is scheduling food deliveries from Tesco or Asda, as there aren't any good local options for groceries.

We would highly recommend the Clovelly House to all of our friends and anyone else that is thinking about traveling to Lynmouth. We hope to go back to Lynmouth again and will definitely stay at the Clovelly House.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The size of the house, the kitchen and the fireplace
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sophie N
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Exceptionally comfortable and homey self-catering in stunning location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Our hostesses were lovely and provided many good tips about the area. (They even made a Tesco's stop for us, as we were arriving from the U.S. on a Sunday evening after a gruellingly long journey.)
Clovelly House was more than we imagined it would be: more room, more clean, more natural light, more tastefully appointed, and the setting and location couldn't be better. As hikers and photographers, we found this part of Devon to be absolute magic.
Thank you, Lyn and Keith! We can't wait till next time.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The natural light, the privacy of the space, the cleanliness, and the location
Liked least: the bright streetlight that shone in the front double bedroom.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
LesleyAsh
Lancs
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Home from home in a stunning location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

A much larger than expected lovely family home with everything you needed for an enjoyable holiday. Our young boys particularly liked the large kitchen come family room with television and DVD player as they could do what they wanted of an evening. In saying that they always ended up with us in the front room to enjoy the cosy open fire.
The walks in the area are wonderful and right on the doorstep of the property. In particular we loved Watersmeet and the Valley of Rocks to see the famous mountain goats. In the evening we would go to the harbour to catch crabs which we all loved doing (it got quite competitive!) even in the rain. There are plenty of good eating places in both Lynmouth and Lynton. Taking the cliff railway to Lynton is great fun expecially for little ones as they are allowed to stand with the driver or you can walk and burn off all those cream tea calories! All in all a thoroghly enjoyable holiday with plenty of golden autumn sunshine days!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The homeliness of the house.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Marlborough
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011 for a stay in December 2009
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Emma18630...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent house in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

We have stayed at Clovelly house in Lynmouth 3 times with our 4 young children. It is a super house with a homely feel and ample accommodation. It is in a prime location by the river in the charming village of Lynmouth and makes for a truly relaxing holiday. The proximity to some great walks in and around the Lynmouth area makes it ideal for exploring Exmoor. Our Lynmouth holiday is always the highlight of our family's year: we never fail to discover a new walk or local area to visit and always look forward to our next visit. Lyn is a delightful owner who is always very accommodating. Highly recommended!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments Emman

Lyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Stafford
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011 for a stay in December 2010
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Butserbab...
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

A lovely house in a beautiful location. A lovely spacious, comfortable house, equipt with everything you need for a ideal family holiday. I would certainly return. The whole family thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The only problem was we didn't want to leave!

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$154
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Mrs Linda Dobie
+447796061761
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2011
Response Rate: 5 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 393 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing