We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tors Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tors Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tors Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tors Hotel | Tors Park, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Lynmouth
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great View, Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great location, lovely clean room with breathtaking view of Lynmouth. The food is excellent and the staff are very helpful and polite. Access into the town could be better as you have the choice of walking along the road (which has no pavement) or a Zig Zag path down the hill which would be difficult for elderly/disabled. Decoration is a bit bizarre but very interesting and the house Gin is worth a mention.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a sea view - best view of Lynmouth in the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the food excellent and the staff helpful.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    69
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
32
122
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very enjoyable hotel and great views from the balcony. No wi fi outside the reception though. The lobby and the whole ground floor is full of antiques and other items of interest. I've seen reviews of the hotel saying they didn't like all the "clutter". I actually think it adds to the charm of the place

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the views to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have just returned from a wedding at this lovely venue and were thoroughly impressed on all fronts. The staff were welcoming & helpful, the food was excellent and the ambience created brilliant. Both of us had a lovely stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your kind comments, we are all delighted that the weekend was a success and that all guests enjoyed their stay at Millers at the Tors.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Have just spent three nights (courtesy of an Amazon special offer) at The Tors Hotel. Very nice room overlooking Lynmouth - very comfortable beds and super towels. Set at the bottom end of Countisbury Hill so probably not so good for those with limited mobility as you either have to walk down the road (no footpath) or down a zig-zig garden path to reach Lynmouth. Staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Restaurant overlooks the town, either indoor or on the terrace. Quirky furnishings with many antiques. Very good evening meal but maybe would have been nice to have had a change of choices on the menu which remained the same throughout our stay. Would be very happy to go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms with best views are overlooking Lynmouth
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel, and thank you for your kind comments.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the 'quirkiness' of our hotel and and found the food to be of a high standard.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Sitting on the sun terrace at the front of the hotel with a beer, looking out on the stunning views, you could be in the South of France. The two rooms we stayed in were clean and comfortable, as were the beds. The first room got quite hot, but it was exceptionally hot weather, and they gave us a fan. The breakfasts and dinners in the lovely restaurant were excellent, as was our final meal in the bar area. The bar and adjoining rooms had a nice ambiance, and were filled with antiques, books, and, er, a Sheep ! You have a short drive to some lovely beaches, and i must say the whole area is beautiful. Good luck to Ron and the staff who were all very friendly, and made us very 'velcome' ! We had a great four days and would certainly return in the future. P.S.- Ron, Dad wanted to know if you could do us a deal on a Twin Superior !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mr Stratton,

Thank you for your review and for your great comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would be very happy to give your parents a good price to come and stay with us!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ron Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Martin Miller is a plank, however the Tors was an enjoyable stay. If one was to ignore the junk that litters the entire ground floor, the room was spacious and clean. We had a just about sea view and the bathroom was large. Breakfast was ample and well presented, I would recommend a stay here and the views are envious!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of days in June in a room with an unparalleled view and fluffy white towels. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were attentive without being overbearing. Would highly recommend eating in the restaurant as I personally had the best pork belly I've ever had!

After loving it so much here we also booked in to Millers Bistro a few weeks later and the only negative I'll say is the newly refurbished rooms were slightly better there albeit without the amazing view.

Highy recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Address: Tors Hotel | Tors Park, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast.Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with you're carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings.It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area.Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tors Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.