We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A golden occasion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tors Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tors Hotel to your Saves list
Tors Hotel
Tors Hotel | Tors Park, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Cephalonia, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A golden occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Tors hotel whilst we were back in UK to celebrate our Golden wedding anniversary, and the Tors was on our itinerary for part of our nostalgia tour. We first saw Tors in 1962 - whilst on a family caravan holiday, and said' one day --------- ' we were not disappointed. This was the first of several hotels we stayed at in Devon and Cornwall and it was all that we had hoped for. Only one problem was that someone,maybe a previous guest staying in the same room with a strange sense of humour had set the clock radio for 0210 -agh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review and for your great comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that your wedding anniversary at Millers at the Tors was a special one.

Kind regards
Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    77
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
32
131
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This short 4 day break was much anticipated after a time of illness and a long convalescence. The lounges are certainly fascinating, but there is a lack of seating there if the hotel is full and the outside seating not an option due to the weather. The restaurant evening menu hardly changed during the four evenings we ate there, and you would be very badly served if you are vegetarian. The room we stayed in looked a little tired, and was not as comfortable nor as well appointed as a B and B we stayed in in Portcawl a few weeks earlier at a fraction of the price. Staff were friendly, although sometimes inflexible, fearing I think the reaction of the chef. Is it so hard to adjust a serving of ice-cream from chocolate to a different flavour?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review and for your comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our unique style and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

First impressions ,the decor seemed overwhelming but as time went on the place just grows on one. My wife and I had room 116 with a dual aspect sea view.The only niggle was the carpet was very tired but clean.
The staff were very polite and well trained. We did not dine in the restaurant, but found the bar meals very good and the tables were set in little private spaces dotted around the lounges ( a really nice touch ).Comfortable settees in strategic spots overlooking harbour completed the scene.We will be back!. One member of staff smoking outside main entrance did give good impression.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and you enjoyed the views and found our staff helpful.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was the second time my partner and I visited, this time it had been taken over by the Millers team. I could say that there are lots of little niggles, but the overriding truth is that the view is amazing, have room 202 on the second floor if you can afford it. It is an apartment with huge sleigh bed, lounge area and a bathroom for two to share with a panoramic view of the Lynmouth below. They are due to close for 3 months this year to worth on the bits that still need addressing so it will be interesting to stay again next year. Try it, you'll probably go back.

Room Tip: Room 202 panoramic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review and for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Millers and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lovely location, and very expensive prices which we believed would be the makings of a lovely holiday. However, fixtures and fittings in room were that of a £20 per night b&b, the only member of staff that was friendly was the girl on reception. Rushed out of breakfast, food prices and wine prices were extortionate. I think with this hotel you are paying for the 'millers' name, rather than service and a good time. No atmosphere, won't be going back! On the plus side it served as a base to find some lovely little b&b's in the area, and speak to the locals. Lynmouth is lovely, shame the hotel can't capitalise on this rather than just pushing for money money money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that you feel this way, we believe that our prices are very reasonable (£30.00 per person for a four course meal in a AA rosette restaurant) especially as the quality of food and service is of a very high standard (as evidenced in the other reviews on this site).

We do try very hard to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay but regrettably we cannot always please everyone.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

With it's quirky and fascinating antiques and interior, it's sunny terrace with the best views in Lynmouth, Tors Hotel is a hidden gem. The staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The children were made to feel welcome and the stay was rounded off by an excellent meal and great service. It's well worth the trip up the woodland path for it's food alone. It was a great start to our family holiday - will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your email and for your great comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and that the food, views and antiques were to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A well established hotel that is in need of updating in the bedrooms but the opportunity to find nooks and crannies in which to relax or have a meal more than makes up for this. Having a G&T out side on the terrace looking at the sunset over the harbour is a real treat.
The cooked breakfasts were of a good standard but were let down by poor preserves. What on earth the plastic mini bins on the tables were suppose to contribute to the experience I do not know.
However I would not rule the hotel out if I was visiting the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

I look forward to welcoming you back soon for some more 'Martin Miller' Gin and Tonics in the sun!

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Address: Tors Hotel | Tors Park, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast.Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with you're carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings.It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area.Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Tors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tors Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.