We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Save
You added Tors Hotel to your Saves list
Tors Hotel | Tors Park, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ascot
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The views from the restaurant, lounge and some of the bedrooms of Lynmouth harbour were breathtaking.

The staff were polite and very helpful.

The food was excellent with good choice, well prepared and excellent presentation.

Aware that some money is being spent over the winter to improve some areas including access from the harbour below which I am sure will be money well spent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours faithfully,

Ronald Marks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    77
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
32
131
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We went for a last minute break to celebrate my Birthday after a very stressful week. Our room had an amazing view out to sea and I could even lie in the bath with a glass of bubbles and watch the waves. The staff were very helpful and friendly under the management of Ron Marks. We wiled away many hours in the lounge with afternoon tea and drinks while browsing through the large selection of books. The food in the restaurant, again with its stunning views, was excellent. We hope certainly to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Our makeover is full steam ahead and sincerely hope that the work we are doing on the hotel will bring it back to life.

Yours faithfully,

Ronald Marks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Can`t recommend this hotel enough, especially as it takes dogs, but no where in the hotel smelt of `dog` the staff were lovely couldn`t do enough for you made to feel so welcome. Breakfast was lovely and beautiful views. The rooms were a bit tired but hotel having makeover hope they don`t increase the prices as I think it was right on the money. Will be booking for next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The Hotel has recently been taken over by Martin Miller and he has now wasted any time in giving it the 'Miller Touch' with his trademark of Books / Photos / Pictures / Antiques placed in the general areas of the Ground Floor.

I had booked one of the suites overlooking the Bay and I must say it was very well appointed and, of course, the view was amazing.

Our visit coincided with the annual 'Raft Race' were local teams compete against each other in a variety of home made craft each with its own theme and style, and 'floatability' !!!!!

The occasion was in aid of the RNLI, who were there in fine form with the offshore boat and crew from Ilfracombe and an inshore 'Rib' from Minehead, a fun packed high season event enjoyed by all.

This established hotel had numerous guests in residence that had been coming for decades and it was nice to see several generations of returning clientele enjoying the new ownership.

The food was very good with a varied menu from locally sourced produce and nothing more could have been expected of the dining room service that was both friendly and efficient.

We are told that all of the rooms are to be updated with new beds and 'faceovers' and there is a program of exterior landscaping being undertaken in the Autumn 2011.

This venue is recommended by me for those who prefer non-city breaks and holidays and enjoy visiting local places of interest including Exmoor and this beautiful coastline including the famous Coastal Path.

Visiting Millers other local Hotel, 'Millers at the The Anchor' at Porlock Weir is a must and although I have stayed there several times I continue to enjoy the ambience of the Hotel and the Harbour.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We love this hotel. Over the last few years it has become a little tired looking but it has never lost the lovely, friendly, welcoming feel. We have been told it has recently been bought by a new owner and already there are a couple of little changes - candles through the bar and lounge areas, antique bits and pieces- very nicely done. The food is always delicious. The staff very helpful. The views amazing. We would recommend this hotel strongly. Will be watching with interest what changes are coming next.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - it is so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This was a much needed break for us, we went open minded as it only being a 3* hotel, although parts of the hotel are a little tired although spotlessly clean and the staff demonstrate high standards of customer care throughout the hotel. Kinga the front of house receptionist is lovely and cannot do enough for you. Our room was cleaned daily, by the time we came back up from breakfast it had been thoroughly cleaned. The bed had the whitest sheets I've ever slept in. We upgraded our room to the superior as we wanted to enjoy the magnificent views overlooking the bay. We were shown a choice of rooms to choose from, certainly not something we have experienced in other hotels. NOW THE BEST BIT, THE FOOD. simply fantastic. Good quality food and they are proud to list where all their produce comes from in the menu. Cooked to perfection, every day we had a different choice and not one day did it falter to be anything other than perfect. The breakfasts each day were well presented with plenty of choice for everyone and always hot.
I would definitely return to this hotel, although it needs some work to revamp it, it more than caters for a relaxing break. Its not a modern hotel but its comforts are in its older style and charm. For us, having good food and being surrounded by lovely staff, a spotless room, was all we needed for a very relaxing break. Go and enjoy like we did.

Room Tip: upgrade to superior, views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

we booked this weekend away as a last minute surprise 25th anniversary break for me and my husband unfortunately on the way down there we had a problem with the car it broke down we got there at 4pm we had booked the suite room the room was very beige furniture dated bed clothes very dated no duvets and again beige in colour. tv very old ,reception rubbish no sky, fridge we found under cupboard not switched on two bottles of water in it.we paid an awful lot of money for this room we expected more, had to pay for the news paper, no free wi fi or sky surely these things should come as standard, ,bathroom lovely jacuzi bath fab, staff friendly food ok no complimentary drink with dinner even though they new it was our anniversary it would of been a nice touch, very disapointing, i would not book this hotel again very over priced.

Room Tip: there is no best room the rooms all need updating, try the suite room only for the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Address: Tors Hotel | Tors Park, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast.Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with you're carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings.It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area.Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tors Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.