We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tors Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tors Hotel to your Saves list
Tors Hotel
Tors Hotel | Tors Park, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“anniversary weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

we booked this weekend away as a last minute surprise 25th anniversary break for me and my husband unfortunately on the way down there we had a problem with the car it broke down we got there at 4pm we had booked the suite room the room was very beige furniture dated bed clothes very dated no duvets and again beige in colour. tv very old ,reception rubbish no sky, fridge we found under cupboard not switched on two bottles of water in it.we paid an awful lot of money for this room we expected more, had to pay for the news paper, no free wi fi or sky surely these things should come as standard, ,bathroom lovely jacuzi bath fab, staff friendly food ok no complimentary drink with dinner even though they new it was our anniversary it would of been a nice touch, very disapointing, i would not book this hotel again very over priced.

Room Tip: there is no best room the rooms all need updating, try the suite room only for the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    77
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
32
131
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The familly room was spacious ,but the furniture looked like it had been recycled ftom a skip. Two of the single beds had part of their stuffing protruding,the bed linnen was old and tatty and the cane furniture had seen better days.All in all, this was probably the worst hotel room I have ever encountered.
donTo be fair the receptionist offered to relocate us ,but since we had unpacked and were only staying for two nights we declined.I just don't see why they put us in this room if other rooms werebavailable.

Room Tip: don't book a familly room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My wife and I had passed this Hotel hundreds of times and always promised we would stay there one day. I booked the Weekend for my Wife's Birthday and booked a Superior Room. The room was large and nicely decorated, it had a Double aspect with views over the Cliffs and Sea and also of the village of Lynmouth. We had Dinner on the first Night and was so impressed that we immediately booked Dinner for the next Night, I was not disappointed. The food would have stood up to most Michelin Starred Eateries. Breakfast was lovely and the Bin end Wine I chose with Dinner was Lovely. I have read reports from people that stayed in the ordinary rooms and that prompted me to book the superior room. I think they are updating slowly and as each room is finished it becomes superior. Watching the big red ball of the Sun dissapear into the sea from the patio outside of the Bar was almost worth the Money on its own.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Please do not let some of the other comments put you off, you can't please all of the people all of the time.

Room Tip: Go for the superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We had a long weekend in Lynmouth and stayed at the Tors on the DB&B rate. We had a room with sea view and twin beds. The room and bathroom were a little dated and "rough around the edge". The service and food more than made up for this though. Breakfast and dinners were all really lovely. We had amazing lamb rump one night and crab starter. The staff were all very friendly, professional and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

We had a great time as the hotel is located in a beautiful montain with see views from restaurant and lounge .Our bedroom have a great view but small windows and we have to be close to the windows to see it. Breakfast average, staff very friendly and kind.Fishing sleeping village close by .So very good for rest and relax holidays

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed for one night in the Braunton Suite. The standard of decor is quite simply outstanding, the bathroom has a whirlpool bath (patience needed whilst it fills up!) and his'n'hers handbasin. The sea view is excellent and can be viewed from 3 seperate windows across the complete span of the room. The room is not overlooked from outside and very little noise could be heard from elsewhere in the hotel. The evening meal was faultlessly prepared and was served at a good pace. Service at a busy breakfast on the Sunday morning was slightly disappointing as our table lacked butter and milk which others already had. All in all the suite was superb and is a real gem.

Room Tip: The Braunton Suite has a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Just got back from a long weekend in Lynmouth. Tors is in a lovely position and if you get a seaview room the views are great. Agree with some of the reviews about the place needing a bit of tlc, but the staff are so lovely and the food was excellent.
Our room was okay, the bathroom tiny but everything worked and it was clean. We went to walk, so the room was definitely adequate for our trip. Our only small complaint was the bedding - layers of blankets and quilts, which wasn't very comfortable.
All in all a good trip - the wallks around this area are lovely and its our favourite place to do just that. Eat at The Rising Sun too - very good fish.
Thank you to staff at Tors - ignore the rude couple who shouted at the manager about their shabby room on Sunday 29th May. No need for that, when everyone was being so helpful and friendly. If I'd had the time or inclination, I would have shouted at the wife to stop staring at everyone at breakfast as if we were all beneath her. You know who you are - him tall with glasses and she was expecting.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview - excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Address: Tors Hotel | Tors Park, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast.Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with you're carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings.It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area.Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Tors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tors Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.