We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rising Sun Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Rising Sun Hotel to your Saves list
The Rising Sun Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We were welcomed with very polite and friendly staff before actually checking in into our room. 2 hours later when we decided to check in the staff were still lovely.. The room was slightly small but very clean and well decorated along with a beautiful sea view. Breakfast was very generous. Started with cereals followed by a good selection of cooked after.From full English to salmon and scrambled eggs.(all inclusive). Breathing taking walks and scenery. Delightful sound of the birds singing in the evening and morning. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    69
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
21
179
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We took a table in the evening unbooked in May on a Tuesday.The restaurant was busy at 7.30 and we had the last table although there were tables for food available in the bar. Welcoming chatty young staff, good small menu specialising in fish, quite pricey for the area.I had excellent chicken livers on toast spoiled by being served on a cold plate so making the whole dish Luke warm. My main was piping hot cod and chips, not exactly rocket science but very fresh and tasty.Unfortunately, I had an unidentified object in my mushy peas which I was told was a large mushy pea.I don't think so! No apology, just a verbal shrug really.My husband had excellent mussels but fared less well with his lemon sole.It was barely cooked and again luke warm because it was served on a cold plate.Not good for £17.This meal could have been very good with just a little attention to detail.It was not bad enough to make a fuss but overall disappointing for £60 for 2 courses, one glass of wine and a beer.

Room Tip: Did not stay, just ate there, toilets were very up market which is always a good sign in a pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have eaten here several times over the past six months and the food seems to get better and better! It's a really nice old pub overlooking the sea at Lynmouth and it has bedrooms I haven't stayed there. The seafood is spectacular. Yesterday I ate there with my husband and two friends. There is a good menu and I can highly recommend the seafood. My husband and I both had the crab slate - £10.95 which was absolutely delicious. Our friends both had the mussels, which are cooked in three different ways. You order which one you want off the menu. The servings were very generous and we're very well received. I had the praline ice cream for pudding which was served with macerated prunes and white chocolate and was one of the best puddings I have ever tasted. The Exmoor Gold was wonderful too. Service is friendly and efficientand we will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Lovely stay in a beautiful hotel, staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was cosy and charming with views over the harbour .Food in restaurant was excellent, Hotel is ideally situated for nice long walks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Rising Sun is such a friendly hotel, conveniently placed right next to the harbour, lots of walks, all on the flat.

This hotel is brilliant. The food is outstanding and such a variety of choices to chose from. Well done Clare, Tony and team. We shall return. Shelleys Cottage has incredible views of the beach and the valley. Your own little cottage, all its needs are the 7 dwarfs!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Lovely hotel with friendly staff and cosy rooms overlooking the harbour. The restaurant was impressive with local fish the best idea. I really enjoyed the place and would definitely stay again next time I'm in the area. Just around the corner from the water funicular to lynton.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We booked 3 nights in Shelley's Cottage for the first part of our honeymoon. This was the most idyllic and romantic setting we could of hope for. The cottage was cosy and perfect for our first night as a married couple. The staff were very accommodating and the food in the restaurant was fantastic. We could not fault the hotel in any way and we plan to make an annual trip here to celebrate our anniversary.

One word of warning watch where you park the car, as at very high tides the road tends to flood, but again the staff gave us good directions for parking.

A big thank you to the staff of the Rising Sun Hotel for making our stay so special.

Darrell + Fiona

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rising Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.