We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rising Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Rising Sun Hotel to your Saves list
The Rising Sun Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

From outside it looks old. Really old. With a couple of really dated signs, one of which says AA 2 star, all of which give the wrong impression that what you get inside might be a little worn, dated and dusty. We turned up on spec, booked a room, took what we could get then went for a walk. By the time we got back, I was feeling quite ill, so we went straight to our room which was absolutely gorgeous! I always feel that when you walk into a hotel room, you should feel like you're the first people to say there. And that's exactly what it felt like. Didn't take long for me to start feeling better after a lie down while my other half sat in the window overlooking the harbour. The room was really comfortable, perfectly clean, well appointed and nothing looked out of place. The bathroom, the same. I fell asleep in the bath in the evening!
We had dinner there, which was also marvellous - we totally overdosed on seafood! Breakfast was similarly good - best cooked breakfast I've had in a hotel, with a choice of various cereals and fruit.
We had room 2, with a marvellous view of the harbour, and paid £70. Very reasonable for the quality. I asked the owner why they could possibly be considered only 2 star?! Apparently, this is what happens if you don't have a car park... well, maybe this will keep it a hidden gem :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    69
    27
    13
    4
See reviews for
22
179
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Great location and very helpful staff. Lovely room and a great breakfast

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Had a really warm welcome and everyone was so helpful. Our rooms were clean and spacey, with a fantastic view of the sea. The dining room was fully booked, but they found us an early table, and saved our wine whilst we went for a walk between courses. Everyone couldn't have been more accommodating. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

we booked in on the offchance and got a great rate.lovely well appointed clean room with a great sea view, friendly staff ,really good food we had dinnner and breakfast.. will definetley go back

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

If you have spent your working life staying in countless anonymous functional hotels then the Rising Sun at pretty Lynmouth is the ultimate tonic. My wife and I have just returned from an overnight stay. The Rising Sun just oozes character. It's a traditiional old hotel/inn which has been around for hundreds of years . The stairs are narrow; the floors charmingly uneven; the walls are 18 inches thick. Traditional wood panelling is everywhere.

We received a smile at every turn from the staff (both English and the East European) On Friday evenings the bar is heaving - a mix of locals and visitors creating a real party atmosphere - so different from the usual hotel bars which can be dead in the evening. The restaurant is excellent., far better than the usual plastic hotel restaurant. Unusually, the modern light hotel kitchen is viewable from a large picture window adjacent to reception. So you can watch the chef's team in action! The restaurant is wall panelled with white tablecloths. We had mussels in garlic sauce - excellent. The pudding options include a sampler of most of the desserts. We tried it - wonderful! But don't plan on doing anything energetic afterwards! Starters were around £6/mains £13-£16/puddings £6 (the maxi sampler is around £8.50 and is ideal for sharing.

Our room (no 2) was facing the sea; a large pleasant, traditionally furnished room with a king bed,, a cosy duvet, and Freeview flat screen. The tiled bathroom/bath/shower was clean and the shower worked fine. There isn't a dedicated car par but street parking outside the hotel is free from 4pm until midday the next day

Refurbishing has taken place in the dowstairs passageways and toilets. so presumably the upstairs corridors which are a little tired are next on the list. The is a quiet reading lounge on the first floor next to Room 2. WiFi is available, but your mobile may not pick up a signal.

Unsurprisingly, the hotel does not take children. So if you are someone who enjoys an evening meal unspolit by other people's children in the restaurant, this is the place for you!

if you want a small hotel oozing character, ambience, with good food/service and set in a pretty little town amid breathtaking scenery; then you won't go wrong with the Rising Sun.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Everything we were looking to experience, quaint old inn with very narrow staircases, great meals, absolutely lovely, helpful staff and a beautiful Devon coastal village with great views. We enjoyed it so much we asked to stay a second night but had to change rooms as the one we were in was already booked. The first room was a delight, very roomy and comfortable with a cottage feel and amazing views. the second one was a very interesting room with old beams, slightly slanted floor and a very tiny shower but still very charming. . Would recommend to our friends and hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 11 on 1st night, room 3 on 2nd night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We travelled to Lynmouth to stay at the Rising Sun Hotel for a long weekend. We have stayed there on several occasions since the early 1980s. In the past we have always said a long weekend there was as good as a week elsewhere.Due to excellent service. food and attention to detail.This visit was not so.We arrived after a six hour drive. The lady on the bar was very busy and was unable to show us to our rooms . A waitress gave us our keys and as I had stayed there before I said I knew the way to the rooms.The carpet on the stairs had not been cleaned to the edges and had a good layer of dust on it .The room looked as though it had not had a thorough clean for ages.The. carpet was grubby There were holes in the wall where pictures had been taken down and not painted over. Cobwebs in the room and when I opened the window the paint had flaked off and needed repainting.In the sitting room the table glass table top needed cleaning. there was a black mark on the ceiling where something had been removed and not repainted, We ate in the restaurant the first night. Two of us had sirloin steak. It was tough and tasteless. I left the majority of mine. I told the waitress it was tough and due to her not very good english she thought I said it was "soft".The majority of the waitresses did not have very good communication skills.We were not asked if we had enjoyed our meal. I ordered sticky toffee pudding it was a stodgy square of cake with dates in it and no toffee sauce . Very disappointing.I ate a small piece of it and left the rest. .As we sat in the dining room I looked around the blinds at the windows were covered in a layer of dust . The silverware was tarnished. The ceiling needed painting .A picture of the harbour hung on the wall had a very chipped frame.and again there were cobwebs on the ceiling. All in all I would say a thorough spring clean was needed. We paid our bill on the Monday morning we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay.I am very sad that this once fabulous hotel has let its standards slip.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rising Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.