We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved being here. Lovely room with a view and very good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bath Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Bath Hotel to your Saves list
The Bath Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Oudehaskr
1 review
“I loved being here. Lovely room with a view and very good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very good! The village is beautifully located on the beach and te hotel is very close to the beach.
The food was good andt the people who served me were nice and friendly.
The location is very beautifull and I loved being there!

Room Tip: Take the room on the frontsite. You can see the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    41
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Lovely break away to North Devon enjoyed the hotel and all the surroundings.
A lovely part of Devon.
Very enjoyable walks along Watersmeet too, nice little shops, sampled the pubs too very nice indeed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My partner and I arrived in Lynmouth having booked a B&B around the corner from the Bath Hotel. The town just took out breath away as we drove down the steep road into Lynmouth harbour, but the room at the B&B was rather small and cramped.

So we asked at the Bath Hotel and to our surprise, they were able to offer us one of their top floor rooms at a similar price to what we had paid at the B&B. We had a great view and whilst the decor might be described as vintage, it was really comfy and cosy.

We we made extremely welcome by the front desk lady, and the view from the room over the bay and across the little bridge opposite was certainly worth waking up for. Sadly to time constraints, we were only able to stay one night but the breakfast the next day was huge and we went on our way more than ready to conquer the rest of what the town had to offer.

Just feel it fair to warn potential visitors to Lynmouth that the fayre in Lynmouth namely the pasties and fish and chips are superb! Anybody eating at these establishments should force themselves to walk up to Lynton (the twin town above Lynmouth) rather than use the funicular railway!

Highly recommended, both the town and the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the top florr rooms as the views are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend break and were thoroughly impressed by the standards of the hotel ( ok the decor is a little dated but it is very clean and tidy) and it's breakfast so much so that I felt compelled to sing it's praises and write my first review. It is a two star hotel but feels more like a 3 star establishment. We would both be happy to stay here again._

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a crying shame. We stayed at the Bath Hotel many times between 1999 and 2006 and looked forward to our three night stay in October 2012. However I never expected special treatment being an old regular but did think that the proprietors would have said 'hello'. The hotel needs a bit of TLC especially the male and female toilets. Our bedroom had superb views and was well appointed but wasn't warm. Gaps in the windows allowed the cold Northerly wind blow through them and through us! The breakfast didn't include porridge like the good old days and the quality of the sausages and bacon was average at best. The evening meals were equally average with bland vegetables and a limited choice for residents. I guess I hankered after the 5 courses including sorbet and soup we remembered. Now the Bath is similar to many one-night-stop hotels around the country, not the beautiful Victorian hotel we loved. A crying shame for The Bath with a history, layout and position and the potential for old time opulence which makes us all feel cosy, has now been lost. No longer a place for a week's holiday. So many memories of good times had, acquaintances made, late night chats in the cocktail bar, which is no longer open, great food and superb value for money of 4 star quality at 2 star prices are just that......memories.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Arrived late with nothing booked and we were found a suitable room for us and our dog. The room was basic and the decor a little dated but the room was very clean and had all the basics.

The following morning whilst we couldn't eat in the restaurant with our dog we were given a table in the bar where our dog was welcomed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have been here a few times just for food and drink. Stopped eating here over a year ago as the food was truly awful.
The burger seemed the cheapest possible meat and chips/garlic bread tasted of fish!!
Other couples we have been with all said the same about their respective meals and no one finished their plate.
Good for beer, pool and music but that's about it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Hotel

Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bath Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Bath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Lynmouth
The Bath Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bath Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.