We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Devon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blueball Inn

The Blueball Inn
Countisbury, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
01598 741263
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Lynmouth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Short break in Devon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a lovely 3 night stay at the Blue Ball Inn, the staff are friendly and the room very cosy, the food is very good and the 'specials menu' changes each evening. The ales excellent (so my husband and son say). The Blue Ball Inn is a great base for a wide range of walks around this beautiful part of the country. We will certainly go there again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good for a lunch break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Plenty of parking across the road for this interesting pub. We visited just before halloween so the pub bric a brac was enhanced with even more unusual bits and pieces. The fire was roaring but down draft caused the pub to fill with smoke; had it been any worse we could not have stayed and as it was we left smelling like a bonfire. Anyhow, through the smoky gloom, the youngish staff were friendly enough. Food is ordered at the bar and brought to table. We had baguettes served with crisps (not the advertised chips) and these were fresh and large enough for a lunch. The local devon draught ale was excellent. Others around us were having soup with bread which looked like a good option.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Never dissappoints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I am a great fan of the The Blue Vall Inn, Always friendly, Always relaxed and the food is consistantly excellent in quality. So much So we prebooked News Eve to stay there with our dogs for 3 nights way back in February this year. If you want me to wright an all inclusive review on all the good things I have experienced here in the years we have been coming to and living on Exmoor with respect to this inn, I can tell you I'd write a book on it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in lynmouth recently and ate here every night. Large portions and of a high standard. Which u don't often get together.

I highly recommend the local river exe muscles. Fab.

Extremely dog friendly and a warm welcome received each evening.

Will visit here each time we holiday in the area.

Have recommended to family and friends.

Dan Sare Doug and Daisy

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“eating out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Warm and friendly atmosphere. Service and food excellent. quaint with lovely open wood fires. Perhaps too popular, gets very busy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blueball Inn also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Blueball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blueball Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.