We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food should be served at all times!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rising Sun Resturant

Rising Sun Resturant
Lynmouth St | Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
+44 1598 753223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Lynmouth
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food should be served at all times!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Central location, the only nice looking eating place in Lynmouth. Yet if you come back from walking and land on the time between lunch and dinner, there is nothing on offer. Except drinks. I don't get this. How hard would it be for a chef to leave few loaves of crusty bread, a couple different sandwich fillers and a nice salad in the fridge, topped by their homemade crisps? It would take a member of the staff literally two minutes to get a sandwich platter out to the hungry traveller, who wants to eat in nice surroundings. Because, to be honest, the restaurant/café selection in Lynmouth is quite poor if you are looking for good food AND interesting surroundings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    116
    46
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

A 14th century pub overlooking the harbour. Nice atmosphere and very good food but a bit on the small side. Service very good too.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

A traditional looking pub right on the harbor. The food, all locally sourced was really tasty. We had the muscles and crab slate both of which were some of the best sea food we have ever had. Price wise some of the food is a bit pricey. We paid £45 for 2 mains plus 2 drinks each so not bad.All the staff came across very friendly and attentive. We would recommend you try it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

A very popular pub/restaurant that my boyfriend and I just happened to stumble into. The inside was like a local pub with very interesting local history around the place. However, the food was not your usual pub grub, very expensive but very tasty and beautifully made. Gets very busy and you can't book so expect to have to wait and get there early!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were unable to get a table in the restaurant but ate in the bar as it has the same menu. The food was great, so much so we ate there twice over the long weekend! We tried the whitebait, prawns, mussels and the steak and it was all very good. Would highly recommend if you are staying in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rising Sun Resturant also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Rising Sun Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rising Sun Resturant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.