We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and hosts with a helpful can do attitude in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Lyn House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added East Lyn House Hotel to your Saves list
East Lyn House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   17 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and hosts with a helpful can do attitude in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We were warned the room would be small with our big dog but actually it was fine and larger than others we have stayed in.
Totally clean and well decorated though the owners are planning some upgrading ie flat screen tv etc as they are quite new. Maybe fashion dictates an update but it's actually fine anyway.
Wide variety at breakfast and owner totally happy to accomodate all wishes.
Couldn't wish for a better location on the river - great terrace to sit out on only we didn't have time. More a small friendly hotel than a B&B
Wouldn't bother looking for anywhere else to stay in Lynmouth as we'd be happy to come back here again and recommend it absolutely

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    25
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
194
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lynmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Paul and Barbara are the hosts to die for, Thier eight roomed B&B has a cosy character of its own and is well situated but nothing to match the warmness of the hosts. Be it at a black pudding breakfast to the warm cosy glow of an open fire late into the evening, they are the goods. They place you at your ease with a local yarn, topical information, delight in your news of the day, or year, or lifetime. Nothing was too much trouble. Being an Aussie, I appreciated their well stocked bar and often joined them for a nichtcap. They have off street parking as a bonus but you need to be aware a steep access drive. It is a test but Lynmouth is hill country. The final word loved the place but loved the people better.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed at East Lyn House with our 4 children (twins of 7 and twins of 18 months) and were made very welcome indeed. Paul and Barbra were really helpful , no request was too much. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was 10 out of 10. The setting is amazing . We loved sitting out on the balcony enjoying a drink and admiring the view.
I think this is one of the few places that has off road parking.

If we return to Devon, it will definitly be East Lyn House for us !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We have spent a wonderful weekend at Lynmouth & Lynton, beautiful place to have a deep breath from crouded city. East Lyn House that we have stayed at over night is a very cosy place to rest in. Excellent location, clean rooms, car prak space, but most of all friendly couple which runs this place with a 5* hotel customer service. W have been welcomed with a big smile ,although a bit too early the room was already waiting for us. They gave us helpful advices about local attractions. English breakfast was delicious:)

Agata & Kuba

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

No wonder they call this place 'Little Switzerland', Lynmouth and the surrounding areas are truly beautiful. East Lyn House is in the most perfect of locations being set right on the river with views following the short stroll down to the sea. Relaxing on the terrace on a sunny evening with a glass of chilled wine has to be one of the best way to escape the normal hustle and bustle of everyday life. The hotel is clean and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for the owners Barbara and Paul. It's a real home from home! From the welcoming atmosphere to the good home cooked food. Breakfast was outstanding and really did set us up for the day. We were slightly worried that our second visit wouldn't live up to the first but we were not disappointed. If you're looking for a relaxing break in the UK you won't be disappointed either. We shall be recommending this lovely hotel to both friends and family. Thank you Barbara and Paul for a lovely stay.....yet again! We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Lyn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lyn House Hotel

Address: 17 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lyn House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Lyn House is a lovely fully licensed Guest House, one minute from the sea, and located on the beautiful East Lyn river. Owned by Paul and Sally and run in a relaxed and informal style, guests are assured of a warm welcome in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your East Lyn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Lyn House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Lyn House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.