We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Lyn House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added East Lyn House Hotel to your Saves list
East Lyn House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   17 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Ranked #2 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I am a first impressions person, I wasn`t disappointed. The owners were most congenial and very obliging with every request. The hotel is very clean, contemporary furnishings and comfortable. The room was very relaxing with a splendid view down the river to the sea. All the usual room amenities that you expect with a hotel of this quality are there.

Overall a very relaxing stay enhanced by a very reasonable room rate. I loved it so much I`m going back.

Room Tip: Get a river side room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    23
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
172
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were welcomed in even though we'd checked in rather late and were still made to feel very welcome although we were only staying the one night. The room was lovely and we had a great view of the river. The bed was comfortable and it was nice to have the tea and coffee in our room to warm up from the cold. Unlike other places I've stayed the room was nicely warm and held no hint of the freezing temperatures outside.
Breakfast was fantastic nothing was too much trouble, the full English was well cooked and made up of good quality ingredients. I'd definitely recommend this place and we'll be going back.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a lovely view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Weather forecast was sunshine, so made the decision to go to Lynmouth and chose East Lyn House off the internet.What an excellent choice! Paul and Barbara greeted us with a pot of tea and we watched the rugby with them in the very welcoming lounge.Stayed in the very comfortable room 2 with lovely views over the river and out to sea.A great choice at breakfast, especially the full english.Very friendly hosts and we would definitely recommend to stay here!!

Room Tip: Room 2 has lovely views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I agree with all of the previous reviews - nice friendly hosts, excellent location, tasty breakfasts, and great rooms/beds etc + great price. Our room was overlooking the river and the gentle sound of the river took us off to sleep each night. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: river view is best...of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Paul and Barbara welcomed us into their B&B and we quickly settled in. Great room and a good size with Sea and River view( Room 2). Breakfast was delightful, offering a lovely choice of breakfasts but also size option which i found perfect ! my Husband went for the full English and it didn't disappoint !!!The Hotel a perfect location, central to village,Sea and river.
Just what we needed a quiet getaway in amongst a beautiful national trust location.
We will return and hopefully for a longer stay next time.
Thank you Paul and Barbara
Happy new year !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Spent an excellent birthday weekend here - made very welcome by Paul and Barbara on arrival and both ensured my weekend was memorable.
Very comfortable room, fantastic view up the valley, great communal lounge with a super collection of films, books and local history to browse and a great place to relax.
Breakfast is great, I found myself topped up till evening!
We are looking forward to our next visit in the not too distant future and I would certainly recommend anyone contemplating a visit to Lynmouth to book their room now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our trip through Wales Cornwall and Normandy was a journey of discovery. Our one night in Lynmouth was one of those times that we wish we had stayed for a few more days. Next time for sure. We were a bit late in arriving , but as we entered the parking area Paul and Barbara were there to meet us ...and helped us park our overly large car in the garage, Travelling with luggage for 22 days meant carrying overnight bags into B & B's and leaving the main baggage in the vehicle overnight. One less concern when the vehicle was kept in a secure garage. East Lynn House B & B was exactly as we had hoped it would be. In a quiet village, with great walking opportunities nearby, coastal drives, excellent hosts and of course a morning breakfast meal to prepare you for your coming day of discovery travel.
The welcome on arrival, the availability of snacks, tea and coffee, a room with a view of Lynmouth and lively evening and morning conversations in the common area with our hosts and other guests gave a feeling of welcome. Paul's culinary skills ( and chef fashion style ! ) combined with Barbara's morning smile and her keeping things organized and travel advice made us wish that we had planned extra days in the area. Next time we will do so !
Paul and Barbara, thanks for everything !

Elaine and Ron
Markham Ontario Canada

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Lyn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lyn House Hotel

Address: 17 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lyn House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Lyn House is a lovely licensed hotel 1 minute from the sea. Located in the heart of beautiful Lynmouth in a stunning location on the East Lyn river. Owned and run by Paul and Barbara in a friendly, informal style. Guests are assured a warm welcome and delicious home-cooked evening meals if required. A real home-from-home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your East Lyn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Lyn House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Lyn House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.