We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Lyn House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added East Lyn House Hotel to your Saves list
East Lyn House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   17 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Ranked #2 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I agree with all of the previous reviews - nice friendly hosts, excellent location, tasty breakfasts, and great rooms/beds etc + great price. Our room was overlooking the river and the gentle sound of the river took us off to sleep each night. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: river view is best...of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    23
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
172
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Paul and Barbara welcomed us into their B&B and we quickly settled in. Great room and a good size with Sea and River view( Room 2). Breakfast was delightful, offering a lovely choice of breakfasts but also size option which i found perfect ! my Husband went for the full English and it didn't disappoint !!!The Hotel a perfect location, central to village,Sea and river.
Just what we needed a quiet getaway in amongst a beautiful national trust location.
We will return and hopefully for a longer stay next time.
Thank you Paul and Barbara
Happy new year !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Spent an excellent birthday weekend here - made very welcome by Paul and Barbara on arrival and both ensured my weekend was memorable.
Very comfortable room, fantastic view up the valley, great communal lounge with a super collection of films, books and local history to browse and a great place to relax.
Breakfast is great, I found myself topped up till evening!
We are looking forward to our next visit in the not too distant future and I would certainly recommend anyone contemplating a visit to Lynmouth to book their room now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our trip through Wales Cornwall and Normandy was a journey of discovery. Our one night in Lynmouth was one of those times that we wish we had stayed for a few more days. Next time for sure. We were a bit late in arriving , but as we entered the parking area Paul and Barbara were there to meet us ...and helped us park our overly large car in the garage, Travelling with luggage for 22 days meant carrying overnight bags into B & B's and leaving the main baggage in the vehicle overnight. One less concern when the vehicle was kept in a secure garage. East Lynn House B & B was exactly as we had hoped it would be. In a quiet village, with great walking opportunities nearby, coastal drives, excellent hosts and of course a morning breakfast meal to prepare you for your coming day of discovery travel.
The welcome on arrival, the availability of snacks, tea and coffee, a room with a view of Lynmouth and lively evening and morning conversations in the common area with our hosts and other guests gave a feeling of welcome. Paul's culinary skills ( and chef fashion style ! ) combined with Barbara's morning smile and her keeping things organized and travel advice made us wish that we had planned extra days in the area. Next time we will do so !
Paul and Barbara, thanks for everything !

Elaine and Ron
Markham Ontario Canada

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

What a brilliant B&B/Hotel East Lyn House is. Well located in the stunning seaside village of Lynmouth and with ample parking, things go well from the start. Then when you get inside you find the very welcoming Paul and Barbara, a large and comfortable communal lounge, a range of books and DVDs including many interesting books on the local area and its history, a small but thoughtfully stocked bar, and an offer of a cuppa or a drink. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed (including flat screen TVs with built in DVD players for that DVD library) and most have breathtaking views, some both up the valley to the forest and down it to the sea. The hosts will help you with a local restaurant recommendation, or anything else you might ask! The breakfast was excellent - all local produce including sausages made by a local artisan butcher and eggs laid by the happiest hens in Devon. All this came at a price that was such good value for money we almost felt guilty! We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Staying at the East Lyn House Hotel was a truly Wonderful experience. Paul and Barbara are Fantastic Hosts and nothing is too much trouble.They gave us so much information as to the best places to visit which enbled us to enjoy even more of the beautiful surroundings.We have stayed in hotels all over the world and the attention to detail,cleanleness,food,service,and general facilities were so much better than any where else we have stayed we cannot wait to return,in fact we enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra day.

Room Tip: All rooms are greatm 2 has most amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just discovered the business card which reminded me that I failed to do this when we stayed at East Lyn over a year ago! We had a great time in this beautiful place and were hugely impressed by the hospitality shown by Paul and Barbara, who even washed my jeans after I had tipped red wine over them! Over and above the call of duty! They have created a great, convivial atmosphere in the bar and seem to attract interesting guests. Excellent food and accomodation. Will certainly return.
Dennis ad Margery Spindler

Room Tip: First floor rooms have easier access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Lyn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lyn House Hotel

Address: 17 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lyn House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Lyn House is a lovely licensed hotel 1 minute from the sea. Located in the heart of beautiful Lynmouth in a stunning location on the East Lyn river. Owned and run by Paul and Barbara in a friendly, informal style. Guests are assured a warm welcome and delicious home-cooked evening meals if required. A real home-from-home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your East Lyn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Lyn House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Lyn House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.