We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere of an old village by the sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Captain's House

Save Saved
You added The Captain's House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Captain's House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Tors Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Vác, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Atmosphere of an old village by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I can not agree with the complaints shown below. Service and the accommodation was excellent. We always have to make our requirements as sensible as the place could guarantee. An old house likely won't serve for us wifi, extra heater or air-condition equipment, but having seen many old books, pictures and things from past centuries. We could feel how people live there following their usual life rhythm. Nice and natural, with patience.
Asking a service from our side and offering a service from the host always have to be in harmony, it depends on the manner how we ask it.
Our host and his family gave us very warm welcome, indeed. Like a book hiding its real treasures, up to you, how you open that. The more you are wonder of the place atmosphere, hearing people around you, the more you get about its history, literature and beauties.
We should consider its worth as the real added value of that house and the human side and forget luxury tools.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    6
    16
    32
See reviews for
14
58
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our second visit to the Captains House, and as before we were warmly welcomed; the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed, some with riverside views.
Our veggie breakfast was excellent, and the Captains House is well placed for all the beautiful walks in Lynton and on Exmoor.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Room Tip: Riverside if you want the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Having just returned from a 4 day break at the Captains table we felt we must share the pleasure of our stay there, we had a VERY warm welcome by the owner the car was situated in the dry & off the road, the breakfast a full English was filling & well presented. The room was clean & had a lovely view over the river Lyn, we have made a booking to return next month, and are looking forward to it

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

please DO NOT BOOK this place if you want a nice stay somewhere,we arrived on 9/9/2013 after booking a double room en-suite, we arrived to find no parking space, and to be met at the door by i think the owner, who, as time went on i found to be very rude,unhelpful and obnoxious, there was no internet connection so i could not make a conference call, and was not able to get a signal on my iPhone or blackberry, when i asked about this i was told to use the phone like everyone else, which i thought very rude or take my laptop and drive to half way up the mounting.
our room was meant to be double en-suite but had a wardrobe,bed, sink and out dated furniture, the bed linen smelt of mould and i don't think we were in the bed alone as my husband had 5-6 bite marks over his body, the en-suite was a bathroom across the hall with a shower that hardly worked and had to share with several other bedrooms so if you needed the toilet u had to wait until free,i waited 1 hour 24 mins for a shower, (towel very hard) and almost missed the massive breakfast lol joking 1 small sausage,1 egg (like rubber),1 bacon (hard, knife wouldn't go through),2 mushroom 1 halved tomato. window in the room kept rattling, mattress had a protector on it and you sweat all night, even though you are cold bcoz no heating so cant sleep. ruined a few days away with my husband, left after 1 night, dont know how this so called hotel got a 3* rating not even a 1* also photo's of these rooms r not what u get.

Room Tip: DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL, but go to lynton beautiful area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed for one night in room 4.
This B&B is situated in a truly beautiful spot in an historic house oozing with character and old world charm. But contemporaneous it isn't! Our room was hot and stuffy (over the kitchen area) and decorated in a rather extravagant and eclectic mix of styles...Victorian,Seafaring,Thai, Seventies and with knitted cover on the spare toilet roll as well! The ensuite was large, old fashioned with large bath and carpeted floor, but very clean with good quality towels and lashings of hot water.There is also parking available which is a big plus in this little village.
The afternoon cream tea and cake we enjoyed was delicious,but the breakfast lacking choice and the bacon and sausage not of the highest quality.The proprietors were helpful but with a slightly take it or leave it style. It all resonated a bit of 'Fawlty Towers,' but hey don't we all love 'Fawlty Towers'?
If you want a quirky English seaside B&B experience then this is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We only went here because of last minute arrangements and it was the only one that had 2 consecutive nights available.
On the website it said fantastic en-suite room with patio doors leading out to garden. When we arrived we found that the patio doors were blocked with an ugly dressing table and pots outside so that was that!
The 'wardrobe' was sooo tiny we couldn't even fit one item inside and close it!
The room itself was dated and very gloomy- more of a Victorian decor but with a mush- mash of furniture and ornaments.
He kept telli g us that we were lucky because we got a bargain in the room!
Also when we went into the breakfast room the next morning Iand isat at a table next to the window the lady proprietress told me that it was reserved for a couple who were staying for 8 nights! And she kept emphasising that fact - EIGHT NIGHTS! She kept repeating making me feel bad about only coming for 2 nights!
The breakfast was nice though and the room was clean but we won't be staying there again if we can help it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

On our trip to Exmoor we found this lovely B&B in a little charming village. The hostes were very nice and very helpful. They showed us were to go in Exmoor and we had a fantastic day there. It was such a nice place that we decided to stay one more night. We loved the old english house with a touch of asian style. We are sure that we will come back one day, and don't understand the negative comments on this page.
Thank you very much for making us feel welcome in your home, and for making our trip to Exmoor memorable.
Best regards, the danish family

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's House

Address: 1 Tors Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain's House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Captain's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain's House Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Captain's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.