We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hillside House to your Saves list
Hillside House
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   22 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very good location, right next to the trail to Watersmeet and the bus station. Denise was very friendly and helpful. The room had a lovely view of the river. Great full English breakfast in the morning - we were really well fed for our stay. Very well priced rooms as well - I'm a student so will usually opt for hostels where available, but there aren't any in Lynton/Lynmouth and this B&B was really the main reason that allowed us to visit this beautiful area.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have quite a low door and a low ceiling in some parts due to the sloping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chard
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just come back from a night at Hillside House. Denise was very friendly and helpful. B&B is in a nice position in Lynmouth and lots of nice walks are nearby. Breakfast was brilliant and we were even given a sausage for our dog, Beau. B&B did not smell 'doggy' or 'musty' or any of that. My bed was very comfy (which makes a nice change, I fancy they're usually slabs of concrete in B&Bs!) Nice selection of teas and coffees in the room and nice view of the river.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just returned from a walking trip in Lynmouth where we stayed at Hillside House. Thankyou very much for making us feel so welcome, had a lovely room with a great view overthe river Lyn.Breakfast was a great full English which kept us going all day.....lovely people , lovely place
Thankyou Denise and Jeff

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Had a lovely stay with Denise and Jeff in their charming B&B. A cosy home from home, fantastic full english breakfast in the mornings, great rooms, private bathroom with bath and shower, fantastic views from bedroom of the river. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September and made to feel most welcome. Comfortable and tastefully decorated room in an historic house overlooking the river. Breakfast was tasty with the offer of more if wanted. Excellent location for exploring the area. The landlady(Denise?) was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Hi -my daughter scoured the Internet and chose hillside house for a 2 night stay . I am known to be choosy where I stay and a B&b isn't usually my style however .. I am so delighted to have enjoyed my stay there that I would highly recommend it! Denise is a very pleasant helpful lady ... Very clean Accomodation and fresh good quality food... I honestly couldn't ask for more. Relaxed friendly clean, well tended patio full of an array of flowers and a very economical price for two ! Thank you Denise x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from Lynmouth having spent 4 days with my sister and little chihuahua at this charming b&b. From the moment we entered, Denise was very friendly and she even refrigerated my dog food for me and retrieved it 3 times a day! Thank you so much.

This hotel is ideal located and our dog friend room was perfect. If you want a b&b that is well situated in Lynmouth, offers exceptional service and a dry up breakfast that will keep you going all day, then look no further. We will be back!

Kat, Becky and Rocky (woof!) xxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside House

Address: 22 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillside House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hillside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside House Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.